It’s Not All Mary Poppins

This wouldn’t be phallic, nuh-uh

“I built a tower!
It is TALL
and
POWERFUL
and
STRONG
and
BIG!
Do you want a
TALL
and
POWERFUL
and
STRONG
and
BIG
tower,
Anna?
I will help you build one
with your blocks.”

“No, thank you, Timmy. I want mine to be lovely.”

Soooo…

Did we just sum up
Gender Differences
in one
ten-second conversation
between two
three-year-olds?

October 23, 2008 - Posted by | Anna, random and odd, sex, the things they say!, Timmy | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. wow.

    “Wow, look at the height of that pe — er, tower”, or “Wow, how profound!”?

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Roflol

    I love the way she says, “I want mine to be LOVELY.”

    How adorable.

    I loved her choice of that word. In fact, hearing her say that one word is what made me decide to blog it.

    She is adorable, from top to toe, inside and out.

    Comment by carrien (she laughs at the days) | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh, that is hilarious! Out of the mouths of babes…

    Isn’t it great? They have no idea how profound they are, which is why, of course, it’s so entertaining.

    Comment by rosie_kate | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. Also… very creatively written! Love it!

    Thank
    you.

    Comment by rosie_kate | October 23, 2008 | Reply

  5. That’s such a perfect example of gender differences. I’m a firm believer in gender differences after observing my own kids.

    I started out as a parent with the assumption that it was all socialized into a child from the outside, (and I still believe there’s an awful lot of that going on) but parenting has taught me that gender differences surely don’t all originate from the outside. A goodly chunk of them are entirely and inescapably innate.

    Comment by mamacita tina | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. So much for the Pe–er envy! :))

    Comment by Suzi | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  7. Speaking of gender differences, you might think this conversation I had with my four-year-old is amusing:

    http://redheadmommy.blogspot.com/2008/10/bathtime-conversations.html

    Lovely is a good word, isn’t it?

    Comment by Redhead Mommy | October 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

