It’s Not All Mary Poppins

A Woman of Substance

Carol at If By Yes has awarded me a “Blog of Substance” award. (Though perhaps really the Redundancy Award would be more apt.) Thank you! “Substance”. It’s a compliment worth receiving.

The Rules:
•Thank the blogger who awarded it to you (check)
•Sum up your blogging philosophy, motivation, and experience using five words
•Pass it on to 10 other blogs which you feel have real substance

Five words?

Ummm… “five toddlers and still sane”?

“five toddlers and questionably sane”?

“five toddlers and purportedly sane”?

“dog and toddlers: kindred spirits” (That’s for you, Carol!)

How about I do what Carol did and use a list of words, rather than try to create a meaningful phrase?

Respect Give it to the child: expect nothing less in return!

Backbone It’s a term from Barbara Coloroso, whom I respect immensely to describe a style of parenting I’ve always tried to maintain — and to teach to ‘my’ parents.

Creativity Not just crafts and games, fun as they are, but an attitude to this whole parenting schtick. There is no one right way to parent; you have to/get to wing it a lot, so enjoy the experience, be a little irreverent, and remember if you mess up once in a while, take heart: It is just not that easy to permanently screw up a child.

Laughter Every day. Every day there is some reason to laugh at with your child. If you’re not seeing it, take some time to yourself — a weekend away on your own (a girl can dream!), a walk, a shower, at the very least, put on your headphones and drown the little wretches out — you need the breather.

Expectations I find parents tend to have way too high expectations of themselves and way too low of their kids. Every parental mis-step is an EPIC FAIL, putting their child’s life-long emotional well-being in perilous jeopardy. (Note: No, it’s not. Give your kid some credit here; also, lower your expectations of yourself a smidge.) But those coffee shops which expect you to keep your child seated and non-disruptive? They’re just UNREASONABLE!!! (Note: No, they’re not. Give your kid some credit here; your expectations of your child are too low.)

There. I think that will do. Thanks again, Carol, for the compliment!

As for listing blog? I don’t read many blogs these days, and these days I’m drawn to blogs which are IN NO WAY even attempting to be substantial. So I don’t have ten. Not even close. Still, here are three of my favourites. I don’t expect anyone to take part in the meme. I just want to share some of my favourites with anyone reading here.

1. Mir at WouldaCouldaShoulda
2. Janet, From the Planet of Janet
3. Sarah, at A Piece of Sanity

Enjoy!

July 29, 2010 - Posted by | memes and quizzes, parenting

1 Comment »

  1. Barbara Coloroso was one of my guiding lights in determining my parenting methods. I’ve lent her books to many people, sadly most of them hand them back commenting that it wasn’t for them. :( Standards for themselves remained high. Standards for their children remained low. AND now they marvel out loud at my teenagers’ ability to deal with ‘stuff’ and I remain silent!

    It’s not nice to say ‘I told you so’, but nothing prevents you from thinking it!

    Comment by Maisy | July 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

