It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Thinking ahead

There! I’m done the boys’ Christmas presents, well almost. And for the girls?

This. Isn’t that a terrific idea?

In fact, maybe I’ll have everyone make fabric, boys and girls alike, and make skirts for the girls and for the boys… what? … vests? ties? It’ll be winter, so not shorts… pajamas? Oh, yes. Why not pajamas? Hee.

Course, I’ve already made car caddies for the boys, so then I’d have to make something extra for the girls to even things out…

Fun, fun!

August 12, 2010 - Posted by | Christmas, crafts | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. It’s August!

    Yes. Your point? I have three children, my husband has five, there are five daycare kids. I wait until November, or, God forbid, December to shop for that many people, and I would be broke, broke, broke until NEXT August.

    Comment by IfByYes | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I don’t think I thank you for that link. I’ve got enough to do.

    No pressure.

    Comment by jwg | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. PS Make the caddies for the girls but label them jewelry holders. Or shall we have a deep philosophical discussion of the stereotyping involved with all this? Or not? They could make fabric and you could make them all art aprons, by the way.

    They all cook, so that’s why they already all have aprons. The boys play with cars … the girls, they don’t. It is what it is. Everyone plays with the trains, everyone plays with the playdough, the blocks, and the glittery necklaces, but the cars, for whatever reason, are the purview of the males.

    Comment by jwg | August 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m of the generation that thought if you dressed them all alike and treated them all the same there would be no gender differences. Didn’t quite work out that way. Maybe the car thing is because matchbox and hot wheels rarely come in pink or purple,or glitter!

      So am I, and no, it didn’t, did it? However, the balancing point is that I have seen many parents who don’t realize that they are in fact steering their child’s preferences. So they say, “Oh, she’s just CRAZY about pink and ruffles! Refuses anything but!” But they don’t realize that every time she wears jeans and a t-shirt, they pretty much ignore the clothes, but when she wears a cute, ruffly dress, they go ga-ga over it. Do I do that sort of steering, too? Oh, it’s possible. In this case, I think I’m responding to their preferences… but maybe I’ve some steering of the preferences. It’s hard to know for sure.

      Comment by jwg | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Love that car caddy! If only I convince the micro dude to choose just 6 favorites.

    Isn’t it cute? I’m all done but for the numbers and the closure. It’s up to the parents to worry about the number of cars. :D

    Comment by Lady M | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. A doll caddy? for the girls the little polly pocket type dolls or little ani,als would fit in the same caddy. just a different picture.

    Comment by Debbie M | August 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. I love the skirt!! I don’t have any boys so I don’t have to decide on anything extra, lucky me ;)

    Comment by Bethany | August 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

