It’s Not All Mary Poppins

I miss Emily

“Before we can go to the park, you need to put the books away. Grace and Jazz? Put the books in the bin, please.”

I turn my attention to helping Daniel and Poppy into their coats and shoes. A minute or two later, the girls appear.

“Did you put the books away?”

Oh yes. They did.

Word to the wise: Never take what a two-year-old says at face value.

“Did you put the books away?”

Well, yes. I put books away. Most of them. Some of them. One or two, at any rate. All the ones that matter.

Just not those ones…

How could I not follow up? Because I had Emily for five years, and for at least the last two of those five years, Emily would have been in there, cracking the whip, getting them organized, seeing that the job was done and done right! Or perhaps just clucking maternally and finishing it up for them.

I’ve been spoiled by a five-year-old, is what I’m saying. Yup.

I sure do hope her teacher is enjoying the Total Gem she has in her class!!!

November 14, 2011 - Posted by | Emily, Grace, Jazz | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Funny, I was thinking about her the other day. Have you seen her? How is “big school” going?

    Emily, Tyler and their parents came to my Hallowe’en party. She’s doing very well at big school, as is Tyler. Emily’s in grade one now, full time, full days. Tyler’s in JK, full time, half days. They’re so BIG! Both of them had grown taller and leaner in a mere three months. So cute.

    Comment by jwg | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. I feel the same about my daughter! She was always very helpful with things like this. Now she’s in kindergarten, full days. I really miss having her around!

    Comment by Patti | November 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

