It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Breastfeeding Women: Brave New Mavericks or Just Another Mother?

On my post with the pro-breastfeeding video, Zoe commented that she’d “never seen anyone turn a hair” at the sight of a breastfeeding woman in the city of Norwich where she lives. (Or the city closest to where she lives? Where do you live, Zoe?)

I was struck by that, because you know that? I haven’t, either. Well, not when I was nursing my own children. This is even more striking, perhaps, when you understand that my eldest is 28. She was breastfed till she was over a year old. In all that time, as a stay-at-home mother, I took her wherever I went and nursed her when she needed. Restaurants, libraries, bus stops, church (and no, I didn’t necessarily go down to the nursery, which was often too full of distractions and noise), coffee shops, malls… Everywhere. I never once took her to a public toilet to nurse, either. Ick. My two younger children are almost-25 and 20. They, too, were nursed till they were a little over a year old. They, too, went everywhere with me, feeding as required.

And in all that time, I never had one negative remark. I did have a few positive ones.

– From a very elderly woman in the church I was attending at the time, when I slipped into a pew at the back of the sanctuary to nurse, a lovely frail lady who tottered back to keep me company. “It’s so nice to see young mothers feeding their own babies again! I always thought it was such a shame when those ridiculous doctors convinced all those poor women that those concoctions in bottles were better than what God had given us to feed our babies.” If she was 80-something then, and had fed her babies when she was in her twenties, she was talking about the 1920’s. History, right there in the pew beside me!

– From the woman in the seat beside me on a trans-Atlantic flight. My eldest was 9 months old, and I was nursing her during the ascent to assist with the popping of her teeny eardrums. “Oh, such a smart idea. She’ll be so much happier.” (Turns out she was a pediatric nurse at Sick Kids in Toronto, and her lovely husband an Anglican priest.)

For the most part, people ignored me when I fed my babies. Granted, that could have been the averted eyes of the squeamish … but I never got that impression. For the most part, I assumed people were just respecting my privacy.

Oh, wait! I’m wrong. I did have one negative response. When my son, Adam, my middle child, was five days old, we were visited in our home by good friends. When Adam cried, I made ready to nurse him. The husband of the couple made an exclamation of dismay. “You’re not going to do that here?!?”, he wailed.

I raised one eyebrow (I can do that) and nailed him with a steely glare. My tone was measured, but ironclad stern. “Byron. This is my home, and my baby is hungry. Yes, I’m going to ‘do that’ here. If you don’t like it, you can go out in the kitchen.”

Meantime, his wife, appalled, rolled her eyes at me as she smacked him in the arm. “BY-ron!!!” He glanced at my then-husband for male support, and found none. He was a great guy, Byron, and knew when to admit defeat. He grinned, heaved a giant mock-sigh. “Oh, all right. I guess I’m outnumbered.”

I fed my baby. Byron did not run cowering to the kitchen, and discovered being in the room with a breastfeeding baby wasn’t as horrific as he’d feared. (Three or so years later, when Byron’s first child was born, he was the strongest supporter of breastfeeding his wife could have asked for. I take some credit in turning that around.) :D

Now, recall that all this was far closer to 30 years ago than 20. Three decades ago, pretty much, I nursed children in several cities in Ontario, with no backlash, no resistance, no negative comments whatsoever. Thirty years ago! Why, I wondered, this sudden flurry of defiantly pro-breastfeeding articles I’m seeing? As if women expect, as if they’ve actually been receiving, flack, push-back, disgust? I’m baffled.

The Canadian in me wants to suggests that it’s because breastfeeding is only just now being truly popularized in the (prudish) US, and so all these articles, posters, tweets and comments reflect American battles, battles largely won in Canada two and three decades ago. It could be that. Except that the video I posted was from Australia, of course. Hm. Is Australia equally prudish? I wouldn’t have thought so, but who knows?

Or was it that my experience wasn’t representative? I lived in urban Canada, in Ontario. Would I have experienced more revulsion had I been in rural Ontario? (Though that sweet little old pro-breastfeeding church lady? She was in Buffalo, New York, where I was living when my eldest was born.)

Or is it that there are pockets of prudery here and there, that people in those pockets post something on the internet, and the rest of us all read/watch what they’ve posted and come to believe it’s a bigger problem than it is? Because that happens. We know it does.

So, wanting to get to the bottom of it, I have a couple of questions. The first is for you currently (or recently) breastfeeding women.

1. How do most people respond to you? Positively? Negatively? Neutrally? (Not the outliers, now. The majority. I don’t want to hear about that one stinker every so often, and make him/her sound like they’re the norm. I’m interested in your everyday experience.) Though I admit I’m curious to know how frequently you encounter those stinkers, if you do.

2. How do you, breastfeeding or not, account for the sudden upsurge in defiant women demanding their right to … do something I thought was a non-issue 28 years ago?

I’m baffled. And curious.

February 27, 2014 - Posted by | Canada, controversy, food, parenting | , ,

26 Comments »

  1. I’ve nursed two children, both until 18 months. I’ve nursed in churches, parks, auto repair waiting rooms, trams, buses, trains, airplanes, while walking the aisles at Walmart (boy that about did my back in) I’ve nursed in Pennsylvania, Utah, Nevada, and New York, in Switzerland, Germany, Austria, Luxembourg and Italy. I’ve NEVER had anyone say anything to me.

    At our church in PA, I did take the baby out during meetings if he/she was crying and wanted to nurse. Not so much because of other people, but because they had a lovely nursing mother’s room with lazy boy recliners and speakers so you could still hear the meeting. While sitting in a recliner, with your feet up! Ahhh, those were the days.

    Ooooo, my twenty-something self would have envied you those lazy-boys!! Heck, from a distance of 25 years, I’m envious! That’s class.

    One summer, when I was nursing my son, we attended a family camp. 300ish people, week long thing. Anyway, I got lots of comments there–because there was another lady who was nursing a baby as well, and rather than nursing from below, where you pull your shirt up to feed the baby, and the baby covers your stomach (I never used a cover, by the way, my kids HATED that), she would nurse from ABOVE, by pulling her shirt down and (apparently–I never saw her myself) would sit there with her breast just hanging out, because babies, as we know, don’t always stay latched on.

    People thanked me for not being an exhibitionist.

    And I think that’s where this comes from. Most women simply feed their babies and nobody says a word. Some women feel like they have to prove a point, and flash a lot of skin and when someone says something, then they claim discrimination! I’m always skeptical when I hear reports of nursing mothers being treated horribly because I’ve never, ever seen it, and I nursed for a total of 3 years, without a cover, in multiple countries. And, in Switzerland, where we live, I got tons of criticism from old ladies on the tram because my baby wasn’t wearing socks (you will DIE without SOCKS! Even if it’s JULY!!!!!!!! Also you need a scarf once it drops to about 15 Celsius or your HEAD WILL FREEZE!!!!!), but no one ever commented on the breastfeeding. It certainly wasn’t because they were shy about sharing their opinions.

    Heehee. Your story about the Swiss opinionators reminds me of a day, almost 25 years ago, when I crossed a street in Toronto with my weeks-old baby boy in my arms. I had just gotten off a bus and was going to my friend’s home, a distance of some 50 metres, probably. A sweetly round little old lady (is it always little old ladies who do this?), Portuguese or Italian, probably, given the neighbourhood, came hustling off her porch and down her front walk to tell me that I MUST put a hat on the baby, or he would go BLIND in the SUN!!! (On the tree-lined street, held in the shade of my own sunhat…) I nodded and smiled, kissed my baby and kept walking…

    It’s true. There are people out there who just love to be offended. Fussing and fuming and rants of seething indignation make them feel validated or something. Self-important. Could they be the source of the upsurge in defiant diatribes?

    And then, the internet being what it is, women everywhere read these diatribes, and, without comparing it to their own experience, begin to believe that this is an endemic problem, that women everywhere are being discriminated against. It’s a plausible theory!

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas (@RealEvilHRLady) | February 27, 2014 | Reply

    • My mother in law put sweaters on my two in hundred degree weather for the first two years of their lives.

      Comment by naptimethoughts | February 27, 2014 | Reply

      • That’s very popular here. In the spring you start to see moms wearing short sleeved t-shirts while their babies have on a sweater and a hat and are covered in blankets. Poor little things with red faces!

        Comment by Suzanne Lucas (@RealEvilHRLady) | February 27, 2014

  2. And because I’m super long winded,I don’t think it’s a prudish American thing. I’m 41, and my mother nursed me and my 3 young siblings (my two older sisters were bottle fed), as did all my aunts, and everybody I knew. We weren’t exactly hippies–we’re straight laced Mormons, for goodness sakes! We keep our knees and our shoulders covered! But, nursing in public was never an issue, even 40 years ago.

    Comment by Suzanne Lucas (@RealEvilHRLady) | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  3. When I nursed my child, I was the one who felt uncomfortable nursing in public. I envied those women who could do so fearlessly. No one ever said anything, but I was always tense, waiting for someone to make a comment. Most people never even noticed. In defense of my country (and I don’t usually defend the US because it’s impossible to defend the indefensible), the few times I’ve heard claims of discrimination while breastfeeding in public, it usually turns out that issue had nothing to do with the actual feeding, but where the mother decided to do it (in the middle of a high traffic aisle, etc.) OR (and I suspect this is most often the case) it turns out the mother is LYING about it. This happened at our state museum a few years ago. A woman claimed she was asked to cover up or leave while breastfeeding her infant – and went right to the news channels… but, all the employees vehemently refused they had said anything. They went though all the surveillance tape and saw…the woman feeding her child and people walking by – and no one approached her at all. I’ve often suspected that for some women, this is a way to get some of the attention they had while pregnant, but “lost” after the birth of the baby. In any event, enough people believe the woman that they held a “nurse-in” at the museum. I find the concept of nurse-ins to be strange – they claim the intent is to “normalize” breast feeding, but I see nothing normal about a large group of women gathering in the middle of a business, usually with signs or shirts, to breast feed. A woman walking through the mall nursing wouldn’t even attract notice – in my opinion, that is normal…just as I wouldn’t attract attention walking through the mall with a drink.
    Sorry to be long winded, but I wonder if many of these supposed breast feeding issues, are kind of like my own issues with nursing in public, all in the heads of these women?
    Although, I do wonder what you think of extended nursing? I’m not speaking of under 2, but 2+? I know many who believe breast feeding to be a natural way to feed baby, cringe at the 4 year old who walks up to mom no matter where they are, lifts her shirt and starts nursing. I’ve always felt the nursing relationship was between the mother and her child – and they alone decide when to be done, but I do wonder if like, pacifiers, bottles, etc. there should be an age/stage at which we acknowledge that the child is “too old” to be breastfeeding?

    Comment by Kate | February 27, 2014 | Reply

    • Sorry for all the typos and random thoughts, it was early when I responded. Should have waited until the coffee kicked in! :)

      Comment by Sally | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  4. Were you bored and felt like kicking a hornet’s nest, Mary? ;)

    I breastfed all three of my boys until they were just under a year (my supply has never been stellar and my kiddos are big eaters, so once they got a taste of solid food I was second-rate at best, heh). I’ve nursed in restaurants, movie theaters, parks, playgrounds, my car in the grocery store parking lot, malls, friends’ houses… never once have I received negative attention or indeed, any attention at all. No one even looks twice.

    Now, it took me a long time to be comfortable with nursing in public, I have very large breasts and especially when my children were really small, getting everything adjusted and comfortable was hard – and sometimes there was a lot of nipple visible until we got latched successfully. In the early days I’d throw a blanket over everything until we were situated – then I’d take it off, and it was always for MY comfort rather than the comfort of people around me.

    I think Kate may be on to something with the discomfort people experience with very extended breastfeeding in public, though. I freely admit that on the rare occasions that I’ve seen a child age 2+ help themselves, I’ve been uncomfortable – not because OMG BEWBS but because I wonder about the mom’s ability to comfort / soothe their child in other ways. And then I realize I’m judging. And then I feel bad for being judgmental. And I get kind of annoyed with that woman for making me address my judgmental prejudices HOW DARE SHE. :D But that’s, again, about me.

    I can’t speak to every single case of a wronged BFing mom, but I can address the one that hit the media here in Halifax. A woman took her 3 year old shopping. In a small, crowded accessories & handbags store, the child demanded to feed. The woman plopped to the floor right in the middle of the store and proceeded to nurse. A store employee asked if she would be more comfortable in a changing room with a chair and some privacy (and also, duh, not blocking an aisle!) Instead of taking the offer in the spirit with which it was intended, the woman immediately leapt to MY RIGHTS ARE BEING VIOLATED. She went straight to the media, and to Facebook, and organized a nurse-in. I couldn’t help but notice that nearly every mother/child pairing at the nurse-in featured toddlers – no moms with young babies.

    Draw your own conclusions from that.

    Comment by Hannah | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  5. I love this. I’m an epileptic, and because of the meds I take the drs. Didn’t want me breast feeding. We finally compromised at the the first three months, and I put on a determined face, and did exactly like you. However, even my in laws were disgusted. In fact, I think they were the worst. It left me wondering what kind of backassward society I live in that people can’t see my breat as anything but a sexual object. Breast feeding is beautiful.

    Comment by naptimethoughts | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  6. My kids are 10 and 12 and I nursed them for over a year each. The only time I remember a negative reaction was when my eldest was pretty new and I was out at a restaurant with my husband and friends. We were tucked in a big booth with a view of the restaurant. My daughter was completely covered with a blanket, and nothing “untoward” was on display. At one table two men in their 30s(?) stared openly at me, while at another table an elderly couple kept looking over with looks of disgust on their faces. My friend was ready to go over and smack them. As a new mom I felt very uncomfortable, but I took solace in the fact that the elderly man was openly picking his nose the entire time.

    Other than that one time, though, I never felt awkward or had anything negative said/done towards me about breastfeeding, and I did it for a combined 29 months with the kids.

    One thing that I don’t like is my friends that have chosen not to breastfeed get comments and looks about their choice. They feel guilty that they didn’t nurse, and many pro-breastfeeding women seem to put pressure on them and make them feel bad about their choice. As long as babies are being loved and cared for, it’s no one’s business how their parents have decided to parent.

    Comment by buckeeto | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  7. I’ve stopped nursing only recently, when my kid was older than two. I didn’t do it in public a lot, and never after her first birthday. When I did do it, I admit I was a bit shy and sought less-frequented hallways in malls, stuff like that. (Never the bathrooms though!) Nobody ever reacted. People in my extended family sometimes discussed it – in particular a childless couple who’s very outspoken – the wife was very pro, and the husband was definitely surprised to learn that the WHO recommends breastfeeding until two, but not particularly against it.

    I do think Canada considers it a non-issue, but I also, personally, felt a bit shy about the entire thing, so maybe there’s still work to be done? Who knows.

    Comment by myrheille | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  8. I found most people ignored it. I could often tell that it made them slightly uncomfortable, but they seemed to know that it was their problem, not mine. They didn’t look offended, more embarrassed, like “I’m not sure where to look in this social situation”. Older people occasionally asked me if I wouldn’t feel more comfortable “covered up” and I had to patiently explain that my baby hated having his face covered and would yank any cover off immediately.

    My husband never had a problem with me nursing in public…. unless we were in the States. When we were in the States, he urged me to find private places to nurse, and/or stood in front of me to block people’s view of me. I thought he was being ridiculous. But one day, when Owl was about 15 months or so, we were on a flight to Las Vegas and a steward awkwardly sidled up and asked me if I had a blanket to cover myself with.

    “Why?” I asked bluntly.

    “Well, it’s making some people uncomfortable.”

    “Well, they don’t have to look.”

    “So, you don’t have something you could…?” he trailed off hopefully, looking deeply embarassed.

    “No.” I said frankly, and stared him down. He slunk away.

    I feel bad for that poor guy, getting put in the middle between the breastfeeding mother of a one year old and some offended passenger. But on the other hand, I was firmly within my rights, and he should know better. If he had persisted, I would have lodged a complaint with the airline…

    Comment by IfByYes | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  9. Excellent post and comments. I nursed both of mine for 15 months each. And very recently – from 2010-2013. I traveled quite a bit (was in India for 3+ months twice) and traveled within US as well. I never faced a single negative reaction either – in fact, everyone was very supportive.

    I remember when I took my daughter to India when she was 3 months old – we boarded a 16 hour flight over the pacific, and I had a bassinet seat in the front. The guy diagonally opposite to us commented that the infant would have a difficult flight. I nursed my daughter exclusively, during take-off, landing, every turbulence – rest of the time she slept in the bassinet, and when time came to land, he commented again: she is an angel….had such a peaceful flight. I really thought it was going to be noisy around here all the way through.

    I am also part of a close-knit mom’s group where I am the only Asian and rest of the 15+ moms are American – all are pro-breastfeeding and I did not hear anything negative from them either.

    Sometimes, all this hoopla is just created by a few outliers who are whiners anyway. Best to ignore them.

    Comment by shachi18 | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  10. I’ve nursed my 3 kids everywhere! I do try to be discreet, but even on planes and in restaurants I’ve never even had any looks. That said, I’ve had acquaintances actually remove their shirts to nurse in public! I think this crosses the line from “feeding my baby” to simply “proving a point.” I don’t think these people actually do their cause any favors.

    Comment by Pam frohn | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  11. I remember getting onto a crowded train and seeing a woman getting ready to breastfeed her baby. I subtly manouvered nearer to her and was ready to leap to her defence if anyone said anything but no one on the packed commuter train seemed to care and several smiled. I’ve not seen anyone get any hassle, but sadly I rarely see public feeding at all (I do see a lot of breastfeeding, but it’s all within the context of my midwifery training and therefore not in public).

    Comment by May | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  12. I fed Jack for 22 months with never a comment and am feeding Evie now, I havnt noticed any reactions but to be honest I’m so relaxed about it and feed everywhere, if anyone is giving me dirty looks I’m not noticing, I’m too busy smiling at my baby, chatting to Jack, checking emails on my phone or enjoying just looking around, I’m not checking for anyones reactions

    Comment by jenny | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  13. I’m in Vancouver. My kids are 8 and 5 and they breastfed for about 2 years each, and didn’t like cover-ups. I don’t think I ever received a negative comment. Certainly nothing from a stranger and maybe just an uncomfortable comment or two from childless friends. Once of the places I remember breastfeeding was in a lawn furniture display at Superstore. I didn’t let it “all hang out” but wasn’t particularly shy.

    Comment by Lisa | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  14. My experience (in the UK, around 10 years ago) was that breast-feeding in public, even under quite exposed circumstances, was also a non-event. My daughter was a difficult feeder, who would stay latched for hours and hours; in a bid to retain my sanity and maintain my caffeine levels, I’d take her to the coffee shop and sit there swapping her from boob to boob all afternoon. And neither the staff nor the clientele batted an eyelid – indeed on the one memorable occasion when dazed exhaustion meant I forgot to cover *both* boobs before going to pay, the young man behind the counter took my money without once looking startled, and brought me a free espresso. Which bought my loyalty for years, when I finally realised what had happened.

    Comment by h | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  15. I’ve got four kids(17,16,11,12) all breastfeed for about a year or so. I never got a side eye or anything. I was an pull up the shirt sort of girl, not the pull THE girl up and over and out kind of girl. I deal with a lot of new moms and I have to say that the breastfeeding/formula issue is as hot handed as the stay at home/working mom issue and medicated/drug free birth issue. The guilt I encounter from women who are just started on the journey of motherhood on any of this issues is palpable. I wish everybody would just not judge. I seem to be throwing around the quote of “Be kind, for everyone is fighting their own battle.” I also just wish that some people would stop fighting made up battles which I see a lot too.

    Comment by Kathy | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  16. I have wondered this very thing. I have spent lots and lots of time breastfeeding anywhere and everywhere and I never cover up, but never flash it around, either. The vast majority of people ignore it. Once in a while I get the feeling someone is uncomfortable, but they usually look away or wander off. I can think of one negative-ish comment in the form of “Are you breastfeeding? We have a really nice restroom over there…” to which I smiled, nodded, and did as I pleased. I’ve talked about breastfeeding with lots of other mothers and have never personally heard a story of harassment.

    So yeah, I’ve wondered if it’s all some sort of conspiracy… but what would be the point? Just because we love a rousing sensation? Something to get worked up about?

    Comment by rosie_kate | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  17. Also, I really love your little-old-lady-in-church story. Delightful!

    Comment by rosie_kate | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  18. Norwich is my closest city – I live in a small village a mile from a small town, some 17 miles from Norwich which is a cathedral city in the middle of Norfolk.

    Comment by Z | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  19. I live in the USA, in North Carolina. I’m currently pregnant – I’ll update you on my own experience in a year or so! – with my first child but I’ve done childcare for years and have spent a lot of time with breastfeeding mothers, in public and in private, and listened to them talk about breastfeeding issues – and this has come up a few times.

    General opinion is that it’s a complete non-issue here. As long as you’re not sitting around with both boobs hanging out of your shirt, or nursing a four-year old in the middle of a crowded restaurant, the women I have spoken to says that no one has looked at them twice, let alone said anything.

    Comment by BVH | February 28, 2014 | Reply

  20. I nursed 2 babies recently (one born 2009, one 2011) each for about 14 months. I had no shame or concern about nursing in public, and was/am the type who will “whip it out” anywhere (also, have large, low, heavy boobs, making covering up difficult and meaning I tended to expose a considerable amount of breast tissue.

    By and large, I got nothing but positive feedback from strangers, with a few notable exceptions. When my oldest was 4 months, we took a flight where, like an earlier commenter, the flight attendant persistently offered me a blanket and encouraged me to cover up, noting “other guests were uncomfortable”.
    One of my children was born ill, and spent weeks in hospital (a childrens hospital). While there, I was pumping milk for use once baby was well again. We had one nurse (who we requested to never have again) who was so uncomfortable with me pumping (in my room/childs room) at the hospital that every time she came in to check on us, she would actually approach me with an open swaddle blanket and drape it over my front (as I pumped)- it was infuriating.
    And I was once out with a child-free friend for coffee, and nursed the baby at the table. My (now-no-longer) friend kept commenting that perhaps I was making people uncomfortable, and that I wasnt being properly sensitive to the needs of all the others in the room.
    And these little experiences were like water off a ducks back to me. However, if you were already a bit uncomfortable with your nursing, and maybe had a higher degree of modesty or body-shame or something, then I could see how a few little comments (the outliers) could be enough to steer you towards stopping your breastfeeding relationship

    Comment by MEL | March 2, 2014 | Reply

  21. In general, I’ve not had negative experiences of breastfeeding (3 children, aged 10,6 and 4, all breastfed for between 1 and 2 years) but when my eldest was 6 weeks old, I went, without my husband, to a colleague’s wedding. Before accepting the invitation, I clarified whether it would be okay for me to feed there (it was a village hall so no separate room) and was told yes, absolutely fine. I offered to just come to the evening reception instead but was assured there would be no problem. Sadly the brides mother didn’t agree and I was made to go and sit in the leaky mouldy draughty porch (my car was by the church, 10 mins walk away, in pouring rain). I didn’t like to make a fuss because I didn’t want to give her any bad memories of her wedding day but to be honest, I had no idea how to deal with it. I said I had checked with the bride and it was fine but she was adamant and very unpleasant (and I had deliberately swapped seats with a colleague so that I was facing into a corner too!) With my second and third, I would have just ignored her and carried on, betting on her not making a scene but I didn’t have the confidence as a first time Mum of 6 weeks and it made me nervous to feed in public for about 3 or 4 months. I am in the UK.

    Comment by Clare | March 3, 2014 | Reply

  22. I’ve nursed Mr D until just before his 3rd birthday and am currently nursing Mr RJ, 6 months old. Never had any negative attention, mostly non-attention and a few supportive comments. As Mr D got older (I think around 2½ or so), he asked less to nurse in public so that wasn’t a biggie either.
    In the first year or so, I was very passionate about the whole breastfeeding everything, and secretly wished for someone to say something just so I could counter with my well-rehearsed arguments… which never happened. And then, gradually, it just became normal, and I didn’t feel compelled to “show solidarity” with other breastfeeding women by going to group sessions where “couples latched on” during a particular minute were counted. I feed wherever and whenever my children needed/need it while maintaining the same level of consideration as I do when I need food and want to have a coffee or sandwich. This is in Wellington, New Zealand.

    Comment by Rebecca | March 7, 2014 | Reply

  23. Australian here from Sydney, and my experience is much like yours. I breastfed two babies for 14 months each and I’m currently pregnant with my third … I have NEVER had a negative comment and I have breastfed in public regularly, without a nursing cover.

    No one seemed to turn a hair. The few comments have been positive, mostly from women who remember nursing with fondness. I assume it’s worse in the USA? But then again, I breastfed my first child in NYC for the few months after he was born and no one said a thing there, either.

    Comment by Alexa Moses | March 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 311 other followers

