It’s Not All Mary Poppins

A story to lift your Monday spirits

A True Story.

A family has all come down with some sort of stomach bug. They’re losing stuff from the top, they’re losing stuff from the bottom, they’re just plain old losing it. Everyone: mom, dad, the 7-year-old, the 4-year-old, the 3-year-old.

Dad is the unfortunate focus of today’s little story. Dad, as he sits yet again in the highly-trafficked bathroom, letting his unhappy innards do their revolting thing.

His three-year-old bombs into the bathroom. Stops. Stares at dad for a shocked, disoriented second, and then…

you know what’s coming, don’t you?

…puked into dad’s lap.

Aren’t you glad it wasn’t you?

September 15, 2008 - Posted by | eeewww, health and safety | , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Oh dear. That’s so funny, in an awful way. I am SOOO glad it wasn’t me. and glad too, that it isn’t likely to be me, now that my kids are 9 and 12.

    “Funny in an awful way.” Exactly right! And yes, even though we have only one bathroom, my much-older kids would know to grab the garbage pail!

    Comment by Katherine | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  2. It could have been worse, though.

    My mind went through the exact same process as Suzi’s, below. Took about half a second, and then… oh, my. MUCH worse.

    Comment by Z | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  3. Z, pardon my morbid curiosity, but how?

    Eeew… eeewww!!!

    Z’s very good at the understated-but-powerful comment, isn’t she?

    Comment by Suzi | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh, CRAP!

    (Not literally!)

    Get better soon!
    Thank you, but it wasn’t me! My children are 22, 19, and 15 — long past the phase where they’d puke in a lap. Or at least, in my lap… Thank goodness.

    Comment by daysgoby | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. Yes, morbid curiosity, but really, Z, how?

    Well, let’s see… the entire family is struck with vomitting and diarrhea. The child comes into the bathroom in desperate haste, in order to…

    Given the options, wouldn’t you rather have what happened?

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. sounds like us about 2 xmases ago! ugh!

    Did someone get puke in the lap? I hope for your sake the answer’s ‘no’!

    Comment by Dana | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  7. Oh, that poor family.

    Indeed. Ugh.

    Comment by Clementine | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  8. Misterpie and I have taken some nice hits (him: pee in the face, me: poo squirted across the table) from our newborn this week on the learning curve, but that? That beats all. That is just so. wrong!

    Gross, huh? But, as Z pointed out, it could have been worse…

    Comment by kittenpie | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  9. Goodness – I hope everyone feels better soon (and that your washing machine is in perfect working condition!).

    Thank you. I didn’t make it clear in the post — it wasn’t my family! My children are 22, 19, and 15 — long past the phase where they’d puke in a lap. Or at least, in my lap… Thank goodness.

    Comment by rambleicious | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  10. I once had a sewer backup for fourteen hours. That might be a little worse, Z. However, ew. Ewewewewewew.

    Comment by Alison | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  11. Oh my sweet lord. Baby Vomit on my pants this morning doesn’t seem quite so terrible now.

    Comment by nomotherearth | September 15, 2008 | Reply

  12. Wow. That on top of already being so sick and feeling awful is just mean. Poor thing.

    Comment by chosha | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  13. yuck, wish I hadnt read that right before dinner as feeling off colour anyway!x

    Comment by jenny uk | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  14. I mental Image I could do without:-)
    This Blog is definitely about REAL life.

    Comment by Bill | September 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

