It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Hurts so good

Baby Noah is getting a nice, snuggly bottle before his nap. Just him and me, in our own little cocoon of lovin’. Baby slurps and baby sighs, a nice warm body nestled against mine. So sweet and peaceful and

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!

No, it’s not tanks rolling down the street. It’s more like crockery rattling on a shelf. Only I can see the china cabinet from where I sit. Nothing happening in there.

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!

Not quite crockery. More metallic than that. And there are definite “thuds” associated with the “clanks”. All coming from the kitchen, which I can’t quite see from where I’m sitting. Also coming from the kitchen are gales of laughter.

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!
“BWAH-HAHAHAHAHAH…gurgle, chortle, snort.”
CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!
Bwah-ahahahahahahahaha…thud…hahahahaha”

Well, no one’s being hurt, at any rate. But, depending on just how they’re making that CLANK noise, that could be a matter of seconds. I set Noah down with his bottle, which he’s quite capable of holding on his own. I just like the occasional baby snuggle.

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!
riotous laughter

I peek around the corner, and I see…

Click on the pictures for the larger view. Still not clear on just what you’re seeing? Here we have Timmy on the left, and Anna on the right. Timmy and Anna are under a shelf in the kitchen. The shelf holds, as you can see, a toaster, a radio, a container full of utensils, and, which you might not be able to see on the far right of Timmy’s picture, a small plate on which lies a fork. (Also on the shelf: a twist tie, a bread tag, some crumbs from the toaster, and some dried spilled milk. Must get to that.)

Timmy and Anna have discovered — lord only knows exactly how — that if they crouch under the shelf a bit, and then stand up REALLYFAST, the fork jumps on the plate and makes a really great CLANK! noise.

This is very, very funny.

It also hurts a bit.

But it is soooooo funny that we must do it over and over and ooooover again. They rub their head a little, because, you know, you have to hit the shelf pretty hard to make that cool CLANK noise, and go back and whack it on the shelf again.

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!

Each CLANK is one small head bashing itself against the underside of the shelf. I figure they each took at least a dozen shots to the occiput.

So if I’m not here tomorrow, you’ll know the CAS has come and taken me away. I’m hoping the video I took will be sufficient evidence for the defense.

CLANK! CLANK! CLANK!
“BWAH-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA!!!”

September 29, 2008 - Posted by | Anna, health and safety, Timmy | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hey, you have the same toaster as me!

    Oh yeah and the kids bonking their heads against a shelf and thinking it hilarious, that’s cute.

    Better they dumb themselves down through natural causes before the school system does it for them.

    Sorry, that was a joke likely in poor taste. Still, I thought it was funny.

    Been reading some John Holt, have we?

    Comment by Zayna | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh my gosh I’m surprised they kept doing that!
    Ouch!
    Oh well at least they were laughing..

    It was pretty weird, all right!

    Comment by Kelsey | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. My co-workers think I’m bonkers – 10 minutes ago someone asked if I was OK, as I sat there with tears rolling down my face after reading this: I took the link out because it leads to a junk site – a page of ad links. Perhaps you put it in incorrectly?

    10 minutes later I fail trying to keep a straight face reading this and all heads turn as I release a snort of laughter.

    Priceless!

    Blogging at work again?? Glad to know I’m helping to lighten the atmosphere there!

    Comment by Altissima | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. That’s funny! How on earth did they discover this?

    I wondered the exact same thing. I can only assume the first time was an accident, and that one or the other of them found it funny… and then they were off!

    Comment by Alicia | September 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

