It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Autumn Craft

Two weeks ago there was the occasional leaf fluttering to the grass. A week ago, there were small scuffs of leaves edged up against the curb. Now there are increasing drifts of the things, and no walk is complete without a lovely crackling shuffle through the piles, and a great wadge of scarlet, orange, yellow, and brown crammed into every nook and niche in the stroller.

It seems a shame to leave such beauty lying about in the stroller, crumbling to leaf dust. (Or ingested by Baby Noah. Can’t convince them that the seat behind Noah’s butt is not a good leaf niche.

“Hey! Baby Noah is eating my leabes!”
“We’ve talked about this, lovie. Don’t put them where he can reach them. He’s a baby. He eats things.”
“But he’s eating my LEABES!!”
“Mm-hmm. So he is.”)

Today Mary decided we should put our leafy largesse to good use. The blue sheets are the last two of a package I bought from Grand and Toy a year or two ago (ON SALE!!): puffy white clouds on a pale blue sky. A couple sheets of brown construction paper become the tree skeleton. Green grass completes my part of the project.

Dot liberally with glue, and let the tots at it!

It helps to have friends who share.

And… ta-dah! Trees!

Only 3,574,083,094 leaves left to go.

October 7, 2008 - Posted by | Canada, crafts | , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Wooo! I love this – I am the (unfortunately) most un-artistic person around, but my own tot is quite into this kind of thing. I do remember some of the things I used to do in daycare myself, so we’re not at a complete loss, but I’d have never thought this one up. Pathetic, I know 🙂

    I think I’m going to steal this and once we get more fall colours on our leaves, we can go nuts. Thanks for posting this!

    You’re welcome, and steal away. I do more crafts with the kids than this blog would indicate. I should probably show you more of our creative play!

    Comment by smashedpea | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. What a fab idea. I think I might try that with the little one when he gets back from the CM this afternoon.

    It’s so easy, too. Glue sticks don’t work for this: you need the thick white school glue (aka ‘PVA glue’) for this — good-sized dollops of it. Have fun!

    Comment by Karen | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Next time you go for a walk make each kid a “belt” of masking tape, sticky side out, over their coats etc.. That way they can stick their precious leaves and sticks on the belt. When you get back cut them off the kids and hang them up-instant art. Figuring out what will stick and what is too heavy is a science and math activity so you can tell the parents you did Art, Math and Science on your walk. Wifer masking tape works best.

    What a GREAT idea! I will ABSOLUTELY be doing this tomorrow, and if we’reall lucky, I’ll get pictures, too. We have some three-inch wide green masking tape left over from painting the kitchen and bathroom. That should work beautifully!

    Comment by jwg | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. wider

    Well, I wondered. Because it was at the beginning of a sentence and thus capitalized, I wondered if it was a brand name! Thanks for the clarification.

    Comment by jwg | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. pretty! we’re just starting autumn here, but I’m going to do the tree and the masking tape, could I cover them in it and just get them to roll around!

    You know, that would be a pretty efficient way to get rid of the dustballs under the couch, too…

    Comment by jenny uk | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  6. You have the best crafts – how much do you charge for 32 years olds who don’t need help going potty or tying their shoes? 😉

    If you’d let me slip out for a coffee once or twice a week, I’d pay YOU! When can you come?

    Comment by rambleicious | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  7. These are amazing – Thanks for the great idea!

    Comment by Anita Kaiser | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] Thanks for the tip, JWG. (JWG’s comment is number […]

    Pingback by Autumn crafts, again: Leaf belts and seeking more « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  9. This is brilliant. I think I have some of that blue cloud paper left. Ha ha. Eating my leabes! That’s so cute.

    Comment by Vita | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

