It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Autumn crafts, again: Leaf belts and seeking more

Here we have our masking-tape belts, all turned into tapestries. The one on the far right is baby Noah’s. He was more interested in crumpling the tape than sticking things to it. The few leaves on it were placed there by the other children, who noted that if they stuck stuff to his back, he couldn’t rip it off. Clever little things, aren’t they?

The belts were not quite so lushly decorated when they were removed from the children, but once displayed on the dining room wall they became much more interesting. The leaf stash in the stroller — there is always a leaf stash in the stroller these days — the stash was raided, and slammed onto the tapes on the wall. Whapping leaves onto the wall was way fun.

Ta-dah! Thanks for the tip, JWG. (JWG’s comment is number three.)

It striked me that with fall here (or on its way for some of you), the time is right for leaf crafts. We’ve done a couple here. I have more, but I’m sure I’m not the only one with ideas!! Let’s open the floor: How about you out there? Any crafts you like to do with the fall leaves?

October 8, 2008 - Posted by | Canada, crafts | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. My Mom used to iron leaves between pieces of waxed paper to make bookmarks.

    I’ve ironed them with waxed paper, but only to make them shiny. I never thought of bookmarks! What a good idea? Did she use them as is, or did she mount them on card to make them sturdier?

    Comment by Lisa | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. if you coated them in pva glue, could you preserve them and it would make them shiny?

    You can coat ANYTHING in pva glue! I usually dilute mine in equal parts with water. Its only weakness is that it’s not water-resistant. If it gets wet, it’s done for! But it’s fun, easy, pretty, and non-toxic.

    Comment by jenny uk | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m so jealous! We don’t get fall leaves in South Florida, only dead ones! I love your leaf crafts, too cute!
    I’m sure I could substitute dead leaves for fall leaves, but I’m thinking all that brown might make the craft a bit depressing…

    Not for a toddler! They’re all about the doing: what it looks like in the end is far less important. Go for it!

    Comment by Kelsey | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. Clear contac taped to the table sticky side out, stuff to stick on and another piece of clear contac on top. (I should own stock in 3M) Do it as a group project and cover a window with it or individual ones make good sun catchers. Colored tissue and cellophane add nice color.

    Oh, I like this! Right now I only have patterned Contac. I’ll have to invest in some clear stuff. We’ve done something similar in the past to make placemats, but I hadn’t thought of sun catchers.

    Comment by jwg | October 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. an oldie but goodie–how about leaf rubbings? last year at preschool, my daughter did acorn painting. the teachers put a leaf shaped paper in the top of a shoe bos and glopped a few blobs of paint on it. then, the added a couple of acorns and she tilted the lid around to “paint” the leaf. and not so much a craft, but still fun! we have several maple trees that drop these “helicopter” leaves. i taught my kids to break one of the leaves off and toss it into the air and watch it twirl as it falls. too much fun, chasing and laughing!

    Leaf rubbings! Such fun. I think the three-year-olds could handle that. Good thought!

    I’ve heard of a variation of the acorn painting done with marbles. Not so seasonal, but more accessible in December, or if there are no oak trees in your neighbourhood.

    We call them “helicopters”, too, or sometimes “twirly seeds”. SOOOooo exciting!

    Comment by Dana | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. Take a look at Lois Ehlert’s book Leaf Man for inspiration for art from leaves.

    also you can take a large sheet of waxed paper, fold it in half, and have the kids arrange the leaves sandwiched between the halves. Then fold the waxed paper shut again, sandwich that between paper (newsprint works well), and iron it. It will seal up the leaves inside the waxed paper, which is pretty, and keeps them bright. You can configure it for a card or a bookmark, if you want a “purpose” to the craft.

    I’ll be going to the library tomorrow; I’ll put that on my list. Thank you! And today? I think we’ll be ironing leaves.

    Comment by kittenpie | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  7. Our Southern Magnolia leaves are so big (3×8 ?) and such a hard material that we can paint directly on them. They turn yellow, but once brown and crisp they’re fun to paint bright colors.

    I also do mobiles with a stick and multiple pieces of yarn tied to it, each tied to leaves. Kiddies can’t really do it themselves tho.

    Apple prints. Use halves and quarters both, leaving the seeds in.

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. […] I love my job, reason #563,143,654 Anna makes her leaf belt. Don’t you just want to squeeze her all to […]

    Pingback by Why I love my job, reason #563,143,654 « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | October 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

