It’s Not All Mary Poppins

The play’s the thing — especially when it does the dishes

Remember how I was saying that for small children, everything is play?

Some very clever people have come up with a way to extend that to older children. Called Chore Wars, the site is based on the notions that work can be fun, even drudgework like household chores, if it’s a game. Your family is a team, each with their own character, working to complete tasks for rewards and points. You might even have to battle the occasional troll or paper golem along the way. (I found a “tentacle” while cleaning the bathroom this morning! AND defeated it!)

Add a little competition within the team, and you might just have the key to getting those damned beds made without a fuss!

October 14, 2008 - Posted by | parenting, peer pressure, socializing | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I am extremely intrigued by this! Is your whole family doing it? Tell us more about how it works for you!

    I thought of sharing it with my kids, but at 15 and 19 (the oldest lives on her own), I think they’re a little old. Though maybe not: I’ve been doing it a couple of times a week, just to see my Experience Points and cache of gold coins increase… But honestly? I think my teens would find that a little sad. 🙂 I think this would be a great tool for children in the 5 – 12 age range. A year younger to a few years older, depending on the children. (I think a 15-year-old who’d been doing it since she was 9 might still be enjoying the game, but I doubt they’d want to start at that age.)

    Comment by kelli | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. This looks awesome!! 😀 I can be a geek and keep the house clean! Woo!

    Comment by rambleicious | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] | Tags: geekery, RPG, ChoreWars, cleaning house I just finished reading a post by Mary at daycaredaze about […]

    Pingback by ChoreWars - let the games begin! « | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  4. I use this with my son – one gold = one minute of computer time. It works wonderfully! He actively asks me for chores that he can do to buy computer time.

    It was harder to work out something for me to get – we’ve tried a couple of things like he’ll bring me drinks and stuff. But that’s worked less well. There really has to be something you want.

    I still plug in numbers though so that he doesn’t outlevel me 😉

    Comment by Sylvia | November 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

