It’s Not All Mary Poppins

We knows ALL ABOUT Civility and Gracious Conversation around here.

Picture two sweet elderly ladies, of the generation that values good manners and gentle civility. They speak in soft tones, they interact with gracious warmth. Their questions are rich with interest; they listen patiently to each other’s answers.

Got the picture? Feel the ambience?

Transfer that feeling, if you will, to the following conversation betwixt one Emily, seated on the potty, and Timmy, who crouches in front of her.

“You goin’ onna potty?”
“Yes. Yes, I am sitting on the potty.”
“You havin’ a poo?”
“No, I am not having a poo. I am doing a pee.”
“Maybe you will do a poo inna minnit.”
“No, I don’t think so. I think I will have a poo another time. This time I only need a pee.”
“Yeah. Sometimes you onny hasta do one. I needa poo.”
“You do? Then I will hurry up, and when I’m all done my pee, you can do a poo on top of my pee!”
“Oh, good idea! Thanks, Emmayee.”
“Your wekkum, Timmy.”

The whole conversation positively drips with Gracious Civility. That, and a little bit of pee.

October 21, 2008 - Posted by | eeewww, Emily, manners, potty tales, socializing, the things they say!, Timmy | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Have to love those toddler soundbites! My favorite from when I taught preschool was between two of my students, one girl and one boy, in the playground. He was on one knee looking up at her so sweetly and intently, she was perched on a bench looking down at him in the same manner. A Norman Rockwell painting couldn’t have been more lovely.

    As I walked by them I heard him say to her:

    “I can see up your nose!”

    A beat. Then he says:

    “Now you say something nice about ME.”

    Oh, those toddlers!

    What could that BE, one wonders? “And you have a giant green booger in YOURS!!!”

    Thanks for the laugh!

    Comment by Kiera | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. stories like this make me want to cry…yea, cry tears because my 3.95 year old that is not potty trained will have nothing of the potty training business

    I just noticed that it says I’m logged in as education uncensored which I do author but I am Mom~E~Centric just in case it confuses you

    Jerri Ann

    Comment by educationuncensored | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. I love these children! Could eat them up with a spoon.

    And Jerri Ann, it really does happen! Until September I was sure my son would be going to college in diapers. Then his new teacher suggested we just not send any diapers to school with him. It was a messy first week but we’ve been cooking with gas (no pun intended!) ever since. A miracle, at least in my eyes.

    Comment by ClumberKim | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. I LOVE IT – I love those moments that make you giggle and laugh hysterically later when you think about it again.
    like this one;
    kids love to shake their heads from side to side and it makes me uneasy as I am thinking their brain is swishing from side to side … and well that just can’t be good. So I ask them to stop, one says to the other
    “stop shaking your head you’re going to hut (hurt) your blain (brain).”
    **she keeps going***
    “stop I say, you going to hut your blain”
    “no I won’t” she replies and keeps going
    so he replies in an angry tone “stop you’re going to hut your blain”
    ” NO I won’t…I don’t have a blain” … and she keeps on shaking her head from side to side 🙂 I almost pee’d my pants with this one!!!

    Comment by Marie | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Haha! Yup, I read it w/ the fancy accents and everything-so funny!

    Comment by Yaya | October 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

