It’s Not All Mary Poppins

When all else fails, confuse them

skuut1“Timmy, please walk in the house.”

Yeah, Timmy. We don’t run in the house.” This is Nigel, visiting for the day. (And don’t you just HATE that “yeah” thing they start to do around the age of 3 or 4? Isn’t it just too totally obnoxious for WORDS?)

“Nigel, you are riding a bike in the house. I don’t think you can talk.” (Which is not entirely fair. The bike is a Skuut, and they’re allowed to ride it in the house, whereas they are not allowed to run. Why yes to the bike and no to the running? Remember that “pitter-patter of little feet” thing? Running is MUCH, MUCH louder. So, not entirely fair, my comment, but still. The irony of his position is unavoidable, to everyone but him.)

Of course, Mr. Literal three-and-a-half year old takes this … literally:

“Yes, I can talk. See?” He opens his mouth wide, the better to show me his talking apparatus.

“No, I mean, because you are riding a bike in the house, you are not in a position of moral superiority.”

. . . . . . . . . . . “Oh.”

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | Nigel, Peeve me

4 Comments »

  1. “Mary, you can’t do that. You’re not in a position of moral superiority today.”

    This will come back to haunt you!

    LOL You could very well be right. In fact, you should be right, but so far I’ve yet to hear it thrown back at me — even from my own kids, who are 15, 19, and almost-23!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | November 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. How funny, I was just researching all manner of runner bikes!

    This is the first I’ve ever come across, and I quite like it. The only downside, so far, is that the small holes where the inner tube’s valve protrudes is not large enough for many bicycle pump ends! We had to hunt a bit to find one that would squeeze into that teeny space.

    Comment by lisa | November 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sometimes I find myself actually using phrases like that to try to explain something to my kids, not realizing they won’t understand. Oh well, they’ve got a few years yet.

    It’s modelling good vocabulary, right? As Jill points out, sooner or later they’ll be using these words right back at you! (And we’ll just have to remember to be proud rather than annoyed, right?)

    Comment by Alison @ hairlinefracture | November 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Heh. Nothing guarantees victory (however fleeting) more than discombobulation. I speak in a different language and end with an expectant smile. Works like a charm.

    Comment by Kat | November 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

