It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Food meme for lazy Sunday

Lifted from Kerri.

1. Can you cook? If yes, do you like to cook?
Yes, I can, and though there was a period there when I really hated it — three meals a day, seven days a week, it’s RELENTLESS!!! — I’m back to liking it again, which is good for everyone.

2. When do you eat with your whole family?
My eldest living on her own in another city, so she can’t count for this. My youngest is home every evening, pretty well, but my son has college course most evenings, and a social life on others, so all in all we probably only manage a full-family dinner meal once or twice a week.

3. What do you eat for breakfast?
Most often? A smoothie made with plain, low-fat (homemade!!) yoghurt with fresh fruit pureed into it, and a tablespoon of flax seed.

4. When, where and how do you eat on weekdays?
Meals taken at home, except my weekly date night with the husband. Breakfast with my daughter; lunch after the tots are down for their naps, dinner with my husband and youngest. How? With a knife and fork. (What does that mean?)

5. How often do you eat out (in a restaurant)?
Once a week.

6. How often do you order delivery/take-out?
Once every couple of months, I guess.

7. Regarding no. 5 and 6: Say there weren’t financial reasons would you do this more often?
Yes for delivery. Eating out? More in the summer than the winter, but really, once I’m decompressing after work, I often don’t want the fuss of getting out and getting somewhere.

8. Are there any “standard dishes” you serve regularly?
We have a four-week menu. Really. So dishes appear once or twice a month, regularly, with seasonal updates.

9. Have you ever cooked for more than 6 persons?
Routinely. When the kids were younger, we had ten around the table at least one night a week, often two or three. Now I cook for six (or more) once a week, on Mondays, when we have “feed a starving student” night.

10. Do you cook every day?
Yes, if you count toast and fried eggs. Now that the kids are older, we have two night where I don’t have to cook. We call it “fend for yourself” night, but they’re quite welcome to cook a family meal if they like!

11. Have you ever tried recipes from blogs?
Yes. It’s GREAT, what’s out there. I’ve used Epicurious most often, but sometimes I’ll just google a specific recipe that I want to try.

12. Who cooks more frequently at your home?
Me, these days, but for a few years it was my husband, back when I loathed cooking. I also tend to forget to eat (“What? It’s suppertime already? Didn’t we just eat?”) and he’s hypoglycemic: not a good combination. It was a matter of survival for him, poor man.

13. And who cooks better?
Good question. I don’t know!

14. Do you cook totally different compared to your mother/parents?
Yes and no. My mother was an impatient cook, of the “if it takes 20 minutes on medium, it’ll take 10 minutes on high” school of culinary thought. I never had tapioca that wasn’t scorched till I left home. (Having three kids in three years, all of whom are “STARVING, MUMMY!!!”, probably does that to a woman.) But as far as putting together nutrious, healthy meals on a budget, we’re cut from the same cloth.

15. If yes, do you nevertheless eat at your parents?
Sure. Even if we were wildly different, home is home. You’re going to be rude to your mother over her cooking style? Yeesh.

16. Are you a vegetarian or could you imagine being one?
I was a vegetarian for a few years, and don’t eat a lot of meat now, so yes. I don’t eat meat unless I feel the need, so when I do eat it, I thoroughly enjoy it. I probably only feel the need, though, because I’m not so conscientious about balancing proteins, etc., as I was when I was vegetarian. I don’t think it would be difficult to readjust.

17. What would you like to cook which you haven’t dared to make yet?
There is nothing I haven’t “dared” to make. There are some I’m too lazy to make, probably, but cooking doesn’t intimidate me that much. This could just be because I haven’t considered anything truly wild and difficult and exotic, though…

18. Do you prefer cooking or baking?
Hm. Once upon a time, I’d have said baking without hesitation. Now? I like them both!

19. What is your greatest misery in the kitchen?
That though I leave the kitchen all nicely cleaned before I go to bed, when I get up there are ALWAYS dirty dishes in the sink. Because I go to bed earliest, you see. This truly, truly stinks! (FAMILY, are you READING THIS?)

20. What do you dislike?
I’m picky about seafood. I loathe liver and lima beans, and I’m not a huge fan of the sweet. Apart from that? I’ll eat just about anything — the spicier the better!

November 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. […] November 30, 2008 by zaynasgarden Swiped this from MaryP… […]

    Pingback by Sunday Doin’s - A Food Meme « Zayna’s Garden | November 30, 2008 | Reply

  2. My father used to get me out of bed if I made a mess after they went to bed. 5 am, 2 am, it didn’t matter. He wasn’t mean about it, just came and told me he needed the kitchen clean in the morning so I had to come clean up my mess.

    Comment by Kelly | December 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

