It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Clear as the nose on your face!

This was sent to me in an email forward, so I don’t know the source. I’d guess this was drawn by an eight- or nine-year-old, or thereabouts. And look what she’s written: “I want to be like mommy!” Isn’t that just so sweeeet?

Now take a gander at the picture. Any guesses as to what mommy does for a living?

homework

I’ll put the answer as the first comment — but feel free to leave your guesses, anyway!

December 1, 2008 - Posted by | the things they say! | , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Mommy works at Home Depot. In this picture, she’s selling a shovel. Isn’t innocence just so sweet?

    Comment by MaryP | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. AHAHAHAHA…LOL. Boy…the way princess put that curve in mommy’s hip…HAHA…I thought mommy had a counter set up for business! Too funny!

    Comment by Coley Moley!! | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh, I first thought she was a bank teller. It wasn’t until my SECOND look that I thought pole dancer.

    Comment by Ms. Huis Herself | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. I was totally thinking bank teller — but now that I’ve read Ms. Herself’s comment — totally seeing a pole dancer!!

    Comment by Cindy | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. I thought pole dancer first and then thought, oh, I bet it’s supposed to be a banker, second. 😉

    I do hope the child didn’t turn the picture in at school – the poor mother!

    Comment by Sylvia | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  6. Looked at this with Mstr A – at 8 years old he is sure mummy is a bank manager;)

    Comment by Juggling mother | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  7. Ah well. I immediately thought stripper, but it’s all colored by your own experience, right? When I taught 6th grade, i had a student whose mother was a stripper, although he swore up and down she was a waitress (she was, technically…a topless one, at a strip club). But one amusing moment was the day his mother walked in and paid his tuition, in cash, in small bills. I told Sr. Annette, our secretary, that she probably wanted to wash her hands after counting it.

    Comment by Bridgett | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  8. Ha! I have a dirty mind because the only thing I could imagine was “stripper.” That shovel is definitely in demand, though.

    Comment by Alison @ hairlinefracture | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. I thought she was shoveling snow!

    Comment by daysgoby | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  10. I just thought she had a gigantic axe and wondered what the money was for – having a gigantic axe to grind doesn’t usually require money.

    Comment by Alison | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  11. I’m with daysgoby, I thought she was shoveling driveways.

    Comment by Zayna | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hilarious! I immediately saw a stripper pole, but then, I have a notoriously dirty mind. ;o)

    Comment by Megan | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  13. I love this picture. 🙂

    And completely off-topic, I just read your recipe for the honey lentil stuff on the crockpot lady’s blog, and I wondered if you fix that for your daycare kids and if they like it.

    Comment by kelli | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  14. hahahahahaha!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Yaya | December 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

