It’s Not All Mary Poppins

About that dog, daddy…

From an interview on ABC, which generally covered more politically significant territory, this little nugget:

STEPHANOPOULOS: [Your daughters] are out touring the museum right now, I heard they were taken straight to the first dog exhibit and while you were getting made up, they went into the control room and played director and producer. And they actually gave me a question they want me to ask you. You know exactly what it’s going to be.

portuguese_pupOBAMA: Uh-oh. Go ahead.

STEPHANOPOULOS: What kind of a dog are we getting and when are we getting it?

OBAMA: The — they seem to have narrowed it down to a labradoodle or a Portuguese water hound.

STEPHANOPOULOS: A medium sized.

OBAMA: Medium sized dog. And so, we’re now going to start looking at shelters to see when one of those dogs might come up.

STEPHANOPOULOS: So, you’re closing in on it?

OBAMA: We’re closing in on it. This has been tougher than finding a commerce secretary.

I approve of how they’re proceeding. After all, choosing a dog is something that should be undertaken with due respect for the needs of the dog as well as of the family. It shouldn’t be done on impulse, but only upon careful consideration. (Much like choosing a commerce secretary?)

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | parenting | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I confess with some embarrassment to being one of those people who finds the dog decision more gripping than even his choice of CIA director (interesting though that was), let alone commerce secretary (important though, no doubt, that is). My only comfort is I don’t seem to be alone in this.

    They do seem to be doing their research. And maybe, if they find the dog in a shelter or rescue organization, that will be latched onto in the public imagination so that the breed, whatever it turns out to be, doesn’t get excessively popular and thereby ruined, or have too many puppy mills opened up for it.

    Michelle strikes me as the type of parent who’d do her research. Good point about the copycat possibilities. I understand the intention is to get the dog from a shelter, so let’s hope people copy that idea, rather than the specific breed. That should protect the dogs against the puppy mill opportunists.

    Comment by addofio | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. I just fell in love with my neighbor’s new lab puppy, but I have too many allergies to steal him away in the night time. I’m curious to see what the Obama’s settle on too. That labradoodle is adorable. I could do that.

    It is adorable! … except that’s a Portugese Water Dog. They are quite similar dogs. 🙂

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. I was going to say — that’s the PWD! A friend-of-a-friend breeds/shows those, and they’re utterly fantastic dogs. The dog my husband has from before we met is a shedding machine, and I can’t even begin to tell you how fed up with blonde/red hairs I am. They’re everywhere. The Portuguese Water Dog is totally on my shortlist for potential next dogs.

    Labradoodles are already in the puppy mill market; I’d hate to see that happen to a PWD, though.

    Comment by Allison | January 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

