It’s Not All Mary Poppins

44 Question Meme

Stolen from Kimberly, via Facebook…

1) Favorite object in your room?
Either the Georgia Okeeffe print we bought for ourselves, or the very cute stained-glass oil lamp my brother gave me.

2) Have you ever smoked a cigarette?
Yes. Both legal (bleah) and illegal (still bleah, but nicely mellow-ifying).

3) Do you own guns?
No. Who would want a weapon of local destruction in their home? (Unless you hunt to actually eat what you kill.)

4) What flavor drink do you get at sonic?
What’s sonic? I mean, other than a hedgehog?

5) Do you get nervous before doctor appointments?
MD’s and optometrists, no. Dentists, yes.

6) What do you think of hot dogs?
Bleah. But once in a while (say, once a year) I want nothing other than a big, fat, hotdog with Dijon mustard and a heap of hot salsa.

7) Favorite song?
Right now? Charmed Life, by Diana Krall. But that changes by the hour.

8.) Can you do push ups?
Yes. And real ones, not girly one. About, oh, 6 of them…

9) Can you do a chin up?
Mebbe.

10) Favouritee type of jewlery?
Earrings. Dangly ones, because I have a long neck.

11) Do you like blue cheese?
Eeewww. No.

12) Ever been in a car wreck?
Nope.

13) What’s one trait that you hate about yourself?
Passivity.

14) Middle name?
Used to have two. Had them surgically removed from my birth certificate when I was 20. Now I have none. 🙂

15) Name 3 thoughts at this exact moment:
(1) I’m cold.

(2) I will never be warm again.

(3) I will exchange sexual favours for a trip to Tahiti.

16) Name 3 things you bought yesterday.

Yesterday was Friday. I was working. When I wasn’t working, it was one million degrees below zero. I did not leave the house. Are you NUTS?

17) Name 3 drinks you drink regularly ?

(a) Water

(b) Tea

(c) Water

18.) Current worry?
My youngest. Not that she’s done anything specific, or even that I really expect her to do so, but just because she’s at that age where they can go like a rocket in an entirely unexpected (and horrific) direction. (Boom! Sur-PRISE, mum!!!) I’ll be holding my breath for about two years…

19) Current hate right now?
My weight.

20) How did you bring in the New Year?
Zzzzzzz….

21) Where would you like to be right now?
Tahiti. Or Sumatra.

22) Name three people who will complete this?
No. Idea.

23) Do you own slippers?
Yes. Down-filled ones from Bushtuka. Pillows for my feet. I LOVE them. (“Do you own slippers?” Pfft. It’s a MILLION DEGREES below zero. I am FREEZING. I have been freezing for DAYS. I may NEVER BE WARM AGAIN. Of COURSE I have slippers. Do I have slippers? What a stoopid question.)

24) What shirt are you wearing?
Navy and gray striped rugby shirt. Over a gray ribbed turtleneck. Over a purple camisole. In layering is warmth. Or at least that’s the theory.

25) Do you like sleeping on satin sheets?
One would have to have done so in order to have an opinion…

26) Can you whistle?
Yes.

27) Would you be a pirate?
No. I like to be clean. I don’t like to fight.

28.) What songs do you sing in the shower?
La, la, la. Whatever I feel like that particular minute.

29) Favorite girl’s name?
Sarah or Rebekah.

30) Favorite boy’s name?
Adam or Stephen.

31) What’s in your pocket?
My cell phone.

32) Last person that who made you laugh? (Grammatical aside: If you’re talking about a person, it’s ‘WHO’, not ‘THAT’. This one DRIVES ME NUTS!)
Rebekah

33) Best memory as a child?
Behind my house there was a bush, then a farmer’s field, then, about a mile back, a river. The river was about 15 feet below the level of the field, steeply angled, very sandy “cliffs” dropping from the grassy field to the river below. At the base of the banks was a narrow strip of compacted, wet sand. I would go there with my sister, a year younger than me. We were probably, oh, 10-ish.

We would launch ourselves from the field and hit the sandy sides of the “cliff” with both feet, then bound again, two feet together, two or three huge, bounding leaps until we hit the sand beside the river. Then scramble back up the banks to leap again. (Go into the river? Never! There were EELS in there! How did we know? We just did. Bleah.)

We also had a nature club in the abandoned, three-walled shack not far from the river. At various times we had a birds’ nest with eggs, a snake skin, various bugs, leaves, spider webs, on display in there.

34) Worst injury you’ve ever had?
Tore the ligaments in one ankle the first time I ever wore heels. (I was eleven. They were one-inch wedges.) I didn’t realize you couldn’t run in heels…

35) Do you love where you live?
Yes. If only Ottawa had shorter, milder winters, it would be PERFECT!

36.) How many TVs do you have in your house?
One. In the attic. I never watch it.

37) Who is your loudest friend?
No one is so loud they embarrass me, and I’m kinda sensitive on this one, so I don’t think I have any loud friends. (Though when I’ve been drinking, I get less sensitive. I may even get a little loud… but only a little.)

38.) How many dogs do you have?
One.

39) Does someone have a crush on you?
Someone loves me, which is much better. 🙂

40) What is your favorite candy?
I prefer salty to sweet. Um… liquorice allsorts are nice.

41) Favorite Sport?
To watch or to play? To watch… um… figure skating? To play? Sex.

42) Where is the next place you want to travel to?
Who’s sending me plane tickets?

43) What were you doing 12 AM last night?
Sleeping.

44) What was the first thing you thought of when you woke up?
Will I read first, or write?

January 17, 2009 - Posted by | memes and quizzes

3 Comments »

  1. I particularly like your childhood memories… sounds like a lot of fun.

    And I too altered my name when I reach adulthood… middle and last names were changed completely.

    Nice meme. I may give it a go this week.

    Comment by ewe_are_here | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s a lot to say…

    I do not envy you your winter.

    Comment by Bridgett | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like the childhood memories one as well. I know the river Well, My freinds and I used to go there to drink, before we were legally old enough to do so. Worry not Mary we never busted bottles there that was someone else. There actually were no eels I think Grandad invented them to keep us out of the river. RB and TH and I swam there all the time until we tried to float down stream on a log and came out covered in Leaches.

    Comment by The Brother | January 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

