It’s Not All Mary Poppins

There’s babies and there’s babies

cookieNoah and Tyler (19 and 16 months old, respectively) stand in the kitchen, awaiting the first bite of the freshly-baked cookies, now cooled enough to eat.

I hold a piece out to each of them. Tyler lifts a hand to take it from me; Noah leans forward slightly, his mouth open, waiting for me to pop it in.

The difference?
.
.
.
Tyler is a second child.

February 4, 2009 - Posted by | food, Noah, parenting, socializing, Tyler | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Hehe

    Comment by Zayna | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey, if you’ll give me a piece of warm chocolate chip cookie, I’ll jump up and get it!

    Mmmmmm, chocolate chip cookies…

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. that picture is making me hungry.

    Heh. You guys are all so Pavlovian…

    Comment by Trish C | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. The fifth child in a family will not wait for someone else to make the cookies. She will get out the bowl and measuring cups and most of the ingredients and then, if no one shows up to help, she will begin the process herself.

    Speaking from experience, are we? I can well believe it. My youngest (and she’s only the third!) does the same. Of course, she’s also fifteen!

    Comment by Meredith | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. Now that’s interesting. And I wonder, does the first child in a 2-child family exhibit behaviour similar to the only child, or to the 2nd child?

    There was a doco on TV a few years back that looked at the different methods of attracting parental attention in first and second children. It was fascinating, I wish I could remember the name of it.

    Good question. I’d say the first child does only child stuff so long as s/he is an only child, and then, with advent of the newborn, the dynamic shifts. (One solid reason for sibling rivalry…) That show sounds interesting. I wonder if Mr. Google could help me find it.

    Comment by Merrilee Faber | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. Okay, but I contend that some of it is pure old personality difference, as well. My twins are *different* – one is more of the “give it to me, I’ll feed myself!”, and one less so. Though it also depends on their mood, how babyish they feel like being at that particular moment, etc.

    Character plays a significant part, for sure. Noah is by nature more passive than little Mr. Go-get-’em Tyler. Over the years and the dozens of tots, though, I’ve seen this pattern far too often to put it down to nothing but personality.

    Comment by Ann | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. And me? I would *stand on my head* if that was the way to get a fresh-baked chocolate chip cookie…

    Gee. I should invite you all over for fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies. It sounds like it could be entertaining!

    Comment by Ann | February 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

