It’s Not All Mary Poppins

The Baby Meme

This was taken from a Facebook friend, who, as far as I know, does not have a blog that I could link to. It’s about your firstborn, but you know what? I have three children, each equally precious to me. I’m going to to this on successive weeks about each of them.

This for all you mothers out there about your firstborn. Just copy/paste and write a new note.

1. WAS YOUR FIRST PREGNANCY PLANNED?
Very much.

2. WERE YOU MARRIED AT THE TIME?
Yes.

3. WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS?
Unmitigated delight.

4. WAS ABORTION AN OPTION FOR YOU?
No

5. HOW OLD WERE YOU?
24

6. HOW DID YOU FIND OUT YOU WERE PREGNANT?
Home pregnancy test.

7. WHO DID YOU TELL FIRST?
My then-husband, father of the child

8. DID YOU WANT TO FIND OUT THE SEX?
No

9. DUE DATE?
December 15

10. DID YOU HAVE MORNING SICKNESS?
Oh, god, did I have morning sickness. I went to bed feeling sick, I woke up feeling sick. If I woke in the night to pee, I felt sick. For four solid months. Bleah. I only actually threw up twice. Which is better than vomitting as often as I felt like it, but only marginally…

11. WHAT DID YOU CRAVE?
Anything acidic: grapefruit, lemons, HOT and sour soup, and, yes, dill pickles.

12. WHO/WHAT IRRITATED YOU THE MOST?
My mother’s reaction to my happy news. First, she thought I was talking about my sister’s pregnancy (which I didn’t yet know about), and then, when she realized that BOTH her daughters would be giving birth to their first children within a month of each other: “I’m too young to be a grandmother”, followed by “Don’t expect me to babysit.” I’ve always gotten on well with my mother, but that was not one of the shining moments of our relationship.

13. WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST CHILD’S SEX?
Female

14. DID YOU WISH YOU HAD THE OPPOSITE SEX OF WHAT YOU WERE GETTING?
Absolutely not. I wanted a healthy child. Period.

15. HOW MANY POUNDS DID YOU GAIN?
Oh, it was a long time ago… 28, I think.

16. DID YOU HAVE A BABY SHOWER?
Yes.

17. WAS IT A SURPRISE OR DID YOU KNOW?
I knew. It was the only way to make sure I showed up!

18.DID YOU HAVE ANY COMPLICATIONS DURING YOUR PREGNANCY?
No.

19. WHERE DID YOU GIVE BIRTH?
New York state.

20. HOW MANY HOURS WERE YOU IN LABOR?
Sixteen.

21. WHO DROVE YOU TO THE HOSPITAL?
The father.

23. WAS IT VAGINAL OR C-SECTION?
Vaginal.

24. DID YOU TAKE MEDICINE TO EASE THE PAIN?
No.

25. HOW MUCH DID YOUR CHILD WEIGH?
7 lbs, 14 oz.

26. WHEN WAS YOUR CHILD ACTUALLY BORN?
December 7 eight days early, bless her little heart.

27. WHAT DID YOU NAME YOUR CHILD?
Haley Marie. Her dad had picked Jennifer, and I had ostensibly agreed, though not without some reluctance, knowing that his sister wanted that name for her second child. But when that child appeared and they asked me what we’d be naming her, me, high on endorphins and euphoria, blurted out “HALEY!!!!!” (She just looked like a ‘Haley’ to me.)

And Haley she is. 🙂

28. HOW OLD IS YOUR FIRSTBORN TODAY?
23.
Years, that is.

February 7, 2009 - Posted by | memes and quizzes, my kids

3 Comments »

  1. Totally stole this. Thanks for the idea.
    I’m thinking that 8 days early is probably just about perfect timing. Of course, I’m going to be happy with just about anything in the third trimester after our first.

    You’re welcome! Now I need to go read it.

    Comment by Dani | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey Mary? I know this comment doesn’t belong here, I would have picked email but I realized there isn’t an address on your blog.

    I saw a “Mary Poppins” post at momlogic.com, and it doesn’t quite seem to be your usual style of writing nor did you post a link to it here. Is there someone else out there using your famous blog moniker?

    http://www.momlogic.com/2009/02/im_the_babysitter_not_the_hous.php

    How odd. When this comment arrived in my email inbox, the link was truncated, so I didn’t see the specific article.

    No, that’s not me. For one thing, I never call myself “Mary Poppins”, because that name’s copyright is owned by Disney. Second, the woman is question is a 21-year-old babysitter (with a bit of an attitude, likely because the website wants to provoke a response/garner hits); I am a 40-something adult (with a daughter older than 21), who never, ever calls herself a “babysitter”(… and, I might add, who is far more professional about herself and her clients. Ahem.)

    Comment by Nev | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’ve been avoiding the “25 Things” meme making its way around Facebook, but this one was fun. I’m in awe that you did a 16 hour labor in the hospital without drugs. While I had no drugs for either of mine (home births), I can’t imagine that I would have gone drug-free if I’d had to go to a hospital. Bravo!

    Comment by Allison | February 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

