It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Perspective

From time to time I feel a smidge guilty about the amount of holiday time (paid!) I get, or the number of stats I take, or my late fees. Do I ask too much? Do I take advantage? Mostly I don’t think so, but I’d hate to think I was causing someone inconvenience or costing them money they can ill afford in hiring back-up care when they’re already paying for the space with me.

1120419_airplane_red_sunset

And then I think… last year, two of my tots went to Cuba for ten days. One of these same tots has also been to the west coast a couple of times, and England once. One family went to The Netherlands. This week, a different one of the tots is in Mexico, and over March break yet another family is going to Costa Rica. There have been trips to Disneyland, to the east coast, the west coast, spontaneous weekends away in balmy southern states…

Last year, I went to Portland for a long weekend. And it was lovely, really lovely, in a pretty, pastoral, mist-on-the-water, rosy-sunset way.

518487_relic

But it ain’t Mexico. Or Costa Rica. Or The Netherlands. Or England. (Or, thank GOD, Disneyland. Bleah.)

So. Guilt?

Not so much.

February 9, 2009 - Posted by | holidays, the dark side | ,

2 Comments »

  1. You could volunteer to nanny the kids while they’re on vacation! If you did it right you could be paid by the other parents while using your vacation leave plus paid by one family to babysit plus (of course) expenses paid for travel and room/board while in the exotic vacation locale. Work it Mary!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I once had a parent ask if she had to pay for a snow day. And she was getting a subsidy and paying about $30/week for full time care. It’s all part of the “you are a babysitter” mentality. That’s why I spend a lot of time browbeating my students into acting like professionals, and insisting on being treated that way.

    Comment by jwg | February 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

