It’s Not All Mary Poppins

The Baby Meme, Secondborn!

The original meme was for all you mothers out there about your firstborn. This one is for me, about my second.

1. WAS YOUR SECOND PREGNANCY PLANNED?
Very much.

2. WERE YOU MARRIED AT THE TIME?
Yes.

3. WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS?
Unmitigated delight.

4. WAS ABORTION AN OPTION FOR YOU?
No

5. HOW OLD WERE YOU?
27

6. HOW DID YOU FIND OUT YOU WERE PREGNANT?
Home pregnancy test.

7. WHO DID YOU TELL FIRST?
My then-husband, father of the child

8. DID YOU WANT TO FIND OUT THE SEX?
No

9. DUE DATE?
April 8

10. DID YOU HAVE MORNING SICKNESS?
No, thank GOD. After my first pregnancy, with its 24-hour-a-day “morning” sickness for the first three months, this was something I greatly feared. I am quite sure this was because I did NOT take iron supplements in the first trimester with the second pregnancy. Phew.

11. WHAT DID YOU CRAVE?
Nothing in particular.

12. WHO/WHAT IRRITATED YOU THE MOST?
All those people who said, “Hoping for a BOY this time??”, as if the only reason I’d get pregnant a second time was because I was somehow dissatisfied with the results of my first.

13. WHAT WAS YOUR SECOND CHILD’S SEX?
Male

14. DID YOU WISH YOU HAD THE OPPOSITE SEX OF WHAT YOU WERE GETTING?
Absolutely not. I wanted a healthy child. Period.

15. HOW MANY POUNDS DID YOU GAIN?
Oh, it was a long time ago… 35, I think.

16. DID YOU HAVE A BABY SHOWER?
No

17. WAS IT A SURPRISE OR DID YOU KNOW?
No shower, no surprise. Or not.

18.DID YOU HAVE ANY COMPLICATIONS DURING YOUR PREGNANCY?
No.

19. WHERE DID YOU GIVE BIRTH?
Scarborough Grace, Ontario

20. HOW MANY HOURS WERE YOU IN LABOR?
87.
Minutes.
I kid you not.
From first contraction to them plopping the baby on my belly, EIGHTY-SEVEN MINUTES. That, my friends, is what is called a “precipitous birth”.

21. WHO DROVE YOU TO THE HOSPITAL?
The father.

23. WAS IT VAGINAL OR C-SECTION?
Vaginal.

24. DID YOU TAKE MEDICINE TO EASE THE PAIN?
No.

25. HOW MUCH DID YOUR CHILD WEIGH?
4400 grams … NINE POUNDS, TEN OUNCES in EIGHTY-SEVEN MINUTES.
(And not a single rip or tear. “You have very elastic tissue” said my GP. “You get the damndest compliments in a hospital” I riposted.)

26. WHEN WAS YOUR CHILD ACTUALLY BORN?
April 13, five days late.

27. WHAT DID YOU NAME YOUR CHILD?
Adam.

28. HOW OLD IS YOUR SECOND-BORN TODAY?
19. He’ll be 20 in April!
Years, that is.

February 14, 2009 - Posted by | memes and quizzes, my kids, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, quick delivery! Wow.

    (Psst…change first to second in the first question.)

    “Wow” was about how I felt about it at the time…

    (Thanks. Fixed!)

    Comment by chosha | February 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. 87 minutes????? Holy moley. And also, you lucky thing 😀

    So you’d think, but not so much. Imagine all the intensity of a standard 15-hour-labour crammed into less than an hour and a half. At one point, when the contraction very suddenly (everything in that labour was very sudden!) turned from contraction to push, I started to scream. Not the moaning and grunting that are helpful to labour, but a high-pitched scream of total panic. I was not ready for this!! The midwife, bless her pragmatic soul, put herself nose-to-nose with me and said with quiet but fierce intensity, “You’re NOT helping yourself!” Which example of tough love was exactly what I needed to pull it together. He was born on the fourth push. My third labour was nine hours, and to my mind, that was perfect.

    Comment by Merrilee Faber | February 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. 妊娠の初期症状にはどんな兆候があるでしょうか?妊娠の初期症状には身体にさまざまな変化(兆候)が起こります。もし妊娠かな?と兆候や初期症状を感じたら、ぜひこのホームページを参考にしてください。妊娠は新たな命が身体に宿る神秘的なことなのです。安全で安心な妊娠検査薬などもありますので妊娠の初期症状(兆候)はすぐに見分けることが可能です。妊娠,兆候,初期,症状,妊婦,出産,マタニティ,検査,薬,生理,出血,基礎,体温,子宮,後期,中絶,体重,セックス,腹痛,胎児,つわり,時期,双子,便秘,痛,性別,腰痛,風邪,食事,ダイエット,日記,ホルモン

    Hm. This could be spam, but given that it links to a site that (judging by the pictures) seems to deal with pregnancy, I’ll let it stand. Anyone out there capable of translation?

    Comment by 妊娠の初期症状(兆候)について | February 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

