It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy Family Day!

A couple of years ago, the provincial government here instituted a holiday — “Family Day“, to be celebrated on the third Monday in February.

This year, it is today. My birthday! Schools are closed, so my kids are home for the day, which is always nice.

And I am working. Boooo! I have no one to blame but myself, either. I intended to put it in the contracts for this year, and forgot. Though large segments do have the day off, it’s not yet universal for all employees throughout the province. I guess it has to be negotiated into labour contracts, too, as they come up for renewal.

However. A day off in February sure would be nice. It’s a long, cold, dreary haul from Christmas to March Break. It would have been doubly nice this year, it being my birthday and all. (Booooo. Oh, I already whined about said that already, didn’t I?)

My husband just came downstairs. “I just heard on the radio that all the daycare centres in the city are closed today.”

Well. That does it. I’m amending the contract template right now!

February 16, 2009 - Posted by | Canada, holidays | , ,

12 Comments »

  1. HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Thank you! We had the little family celebration last night: nacho chips (which the husband makes to perfection) and chocolate cheesecake. Yum.

    Comment by daysgoby | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Happy Birthday! I’m sorry you’re working. How about making birthday cards for art today? They can complete the sentence “I like Mary because…” and you can pull out the toy foods and make a play birthday party. The kids would love it and it might be a fun mood booster!

    We made real cupcakes, which taste much better than the play food — well, only Tyler and Noah can really make the comparison. I confess I’m just making an assumption here about their relative gustatory merits…

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. Yes! Happy Birthday! And I totally second Jill’s idea of having the kids throw you a birthday party! too cute!

    Couldn’t do it. I’d be afraid that they’d go home and tell their parents, and their parents would think I was trying to guilt them, or fishing for presents, or both. We stuck with generic cupcakes, which were a lot of fun, both in the making and the eating!

    Comment by Dana | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Oh, Happy Birthday!

    It’s my birthday today too! How exciting.

    Happy Birthday to you, too!

    Comment by Tesla | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. Happy birthday, and many happy returns of the day!

    Comment by Carolie | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. Happy Birthday Mary! Best Wishes for a great year!

    Comment by Zayna | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  7. Happy Birthday to you! I’m not working today – my office closes for Presidents’ Day – but I totally believe in taking a birthday holiday. Definitely write it into your contracts next year. Meanwhile, enjoy your day, and best wishes for the year to come!

    At a meeting of caregivers some years ago, I heard of a Judge Judy episode (is she still on the air?) in which a couple was arguing their caregiver’s right to take her birthday off. I don’t know if the caregiver had a contract (very foolish if she didn’t), but JJ’s decision was that the caregiver had no such right, and, moreover, gave her a thorough scolding for her temerity in making the attempt. I decided then and there I did not like that woman, and was never going to watch that show! (Nor have I.)

    Comment by Florinda | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  8. Happy Birthday!

    Comment by Alison | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  9. HIPY PAPY BTHUTHDTH THUTHDA BTHUTHDY.

    (Thank you A. A. Milne).

    UR WLCM, WOL.

    Comment by Merrilee Faber | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  10. I think Family Day would be particularly tricky in your city because it is a provincial holiday, but not one that federal employees get, because it is not Canada-wide.

    And as we like to say in my family inspired by a long-ago Sandra Boynton card: Hippo Birdie Two Ewe!

    As it turned out, all but one family had at least one parent home. It’s now in the contract, so when the new ones are signed, I’ll be getting the day.

    Sandra Boynton is so fun! I always liked the Christmas song: “Wee fish ewe a mare egrets moose…” I had it on a mug, and loved it — but it broke, and I’ve never been able to replace it!

    Comment by kittenpie | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  11. Happy belated birthday!!!
    hope you had a great day even if you were working
    xxx

    Comment by Marie | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  12. To all of you who wished me a happy birthday: thank you!

    Comment by MaryP | February 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

