It’s Not All Mary Poppins

International relations move forward

harper1“Why are there helicopters, Mary?” Emily and Timmy are peering up and out through the living room window as the chucka-chucka of the helicopters thrums through the walls.

“We are having an important visitor in Ottawa today, hon. Mr. Harper is the leader of Canada. Mr. Obama is the leader of the country beside ours, and he is visiting with Mr. Harper today. ”

“And he is coming in a helicopter?”

“No. He came in an airplane, but now he is driving to Mr. Harper’s office downtown. The helicopters are watching Mr. Obama’s car to make sure no bad guys try to hurt him.”

“Are there police mens in the helicopters?”

“I would think so.”

Emily nods, satisfied.

A few hours later, Emily and Anna build intricate block-cities on the kitchen floor.

“Who is that on the radio, Mary?”

“It’s Mr. Harper, Em.”

“Mr. Harper and Mr. Obama?” It’s been five hours since our conversation this morning. What a smart little cookie this girl is!

“Yes. They are taking turns answering questions.”

obamafamily“And when Mr. Obama is done talking on the radio,” Anna declares, “he can come to my house and visit. My daddy will make dinner for us all.”

“I don’t think so, Anna. When he is done answering questions, he will have to go home.”

“He can come to my house and then he can go home.”

“No, lovie. I bet he would like to meet you, because he has two little girls of his own. But he has to go home and be with his girls.”

Anna’s brow furrows, then clears.

“That’s okay! They can come, too! My daddy will make more dinner for them! And their mommy can come, too!”

So there you have it. Barack and Michelle? You and the girls are invited for a home-cooked meal here in Ottawa, any time you can fit it in your schedule. I can vouch for Anna: she’s quite the charmer. You’re sure to be entertained.

February 19, 2009 - Posted by | Anna, Canada, Ottawa, the cuteness!, the things they say! | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. She’s good with names; that can take her far. I just ask my kids when I forget someone’s name. Maybe their brains are less crowded….

    My children are my auxiliary memories. Well, my daughters more than my son; it’s not that he doesn’t have a good memory, he just fills it with things which are totally irrelevant to me!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love Anna and her stories.

    I love Anna: she makes good stories!

    Comment by daysgoby | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. my little boy is “obama-obsessed”! he will shout “there’s obama!” every time he’s on tv–which is A LOT! btw, they said on the news that obama was happy to visit canada, but wanted to wait until it warmed up before he came back! made me chuckle and thought of you!

    My daugher, whose high school is mere blocks from Parliament Hill, saw him drive by while she was on her lunch break. First thing through the door at the end of the day, she was bursting with it. “MOM! I saw OBAMA!!! And he kind of waved at us! He smiled and lifted his hand, anyway!!” She was high as a kite. She also noted that it was typical that it would be snowing when a dignitary arrived. “Because without that, it wouldn’t be Canada in winter, would it?”

    She’s right, but I’m with Obama. A little less ‘cold’ would be nice. We also know that he went to The Market, bought cookies for his daughter and a scarf for Michelle, and he ate a Beavertail. (Follow the link and check out the picture. All three of my kids have worked in that little building at one time or another. Fun times.) The press conference was interesting, too…

    Comment by Dana | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. He’d probably be thrilled by the invitation! I hope Anna’s dad doesn’t mind guests when he’s cooking.

    Nope, he’s pretty social. He also does the bulk of the cooking in their house, so if there are to be guests, it would probably be him cooking, anyway.

    Comment by Daisy | February 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hee hee. I wonder how her dad would feel, having the entire secret service descend upon his house at his daughter’s invitation?

    Yes, we all saw those large, unsmiling men in suits when Obama toured The Market. They’d put a damper on the dinner party, one would think…

    Comment by kittenpie | February 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. I asked K (like 3 days after the inauguration, if not sooner) if she knew who lived in the White House (it was one of her speech words for the week) and she said “the two sisters and ‘arack Obama’ – it was the best line ever, forget about their mom or anything else – those girls who are the same age as she and her brother are much more important in her world!

    “The two sisters”. Cute. I’m sure she’d love to have them visit, too.

    Comment by Angela | February 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

