It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Baby Meme, THIRDborn!!

The original meme was for all you mothers out there about your firstborn. This one is for me, about my third.

1. WAS YOUR PREGNANCY PLANNED?
Very much.

2. WERE YOU MARRIED AT THE TIME?
Yes.

3. WHAT WERE YOUR REACTIONS?
Unmitigated delight.

4. WAS ABORTION AN OPTION FOR YOU?
No

5. HOW OLD WERE YOU?
32

6. HOW DID YOU FIND OUT YOU WERE PREGNANT?
Home pregnancy test.

7. WHO DID YOU TELL FIRST?
My then-husband, father of the child

8. DID YOU WANT TO FIND OUT THE SEX?
No

9. DUE DATE?
Can’t remember! (She was my third. It was SIXTEEN years ago. The details get fuzzy…) She did arrive sooner than she was due, that I recall.

10. DID YOU HAVE MORNING SICKNESS?
No. Phew.

11. WHAT DID YOU CRAVE?
Nothing in particular.

12. WHO/WHAT IRRITATED YOU THE MOST?
Nothing. How about that?

13. WHAT WAS YOUR THIRD CHILD’S SEX?
Female

14. DID YOU WISH YOU HAD THE OPPOSITE SEX OF WHAT YOU WERE GETTING?
Absolutely not. I wanted a healthy child. Period.

15. HOW MANY POUNDS DID YOU GAIN?
Oh, it was a long time ago… 30, I think.

16. DID YOU HAVE A BABY SHOWER?
No

17. WAS IT A SURPRISE OR DID YOU KNOW?
No shower, no surprise. Or not.

18.DID YOU HAVE ANY COMPLICATIONS DURING YOUR PREGNANCY?
At first my GP thought it might be an ectopic pregnancy, so sent me to an OB (who was a complete and utter arrogant asshole), who gave me the ROUGHEST internal I have EVER experienced, told me it wasn’t ectopic, then, despite MY instructions to the contrary, instructed his receptionist to schedule my ultrasound.

Asshole.

And I did NOT have the ultrasound.

19. WHERE DID YOU GIVE BIRTH?
Riverside Hospital Birthing Centre, Ottawa, Ontario (which no longer exists, much to the impoverishment of expectant women who wanted a kinder, gentler alternative in childbirth)

20. HOW MANY HOURS WERE YOU IN LABOR?
Nine. Sixteen hours with the first. Slightly under an hour and a half with the second. Nine hours, I tell you all now, is the IDEAL labour.

21. WHO DROVE YOU TO THE HOSPITAL?
The father.

23. WAS IT VAGINAL OR C-SECTION?
Vaginal.

24. DID YOU TAKE MEDICINE TO EASE THE PAIN?
No.

25. HOW MUCH DID YOUR CHILD WEIGH?
Eight pounds, one ounce.

26. WHEN WAS YOUR CHILD ACTUALLY BORN?
July 11

27. WHAT DID YOU NAME YOUR CHILD?
Emma

28. HOW OLD IS YOUR Third-BORN TODAY?
15.
Years, that is.

February 21, 2009 - Posted by | memes and quizzes, my kids

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

