It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Wearing thin

Sometimes I don’t post for a few days at a stretch. (I’m telling you this because I don’t necessarily assume you would otherwise notice.)

It is because we have a dog now. We have a dog who needs two hour-long walks a day. (Sometimes she gets one or two more shorter ones.) I do the evening hour-long walk; the Husband does the morning.

He does the morning when he’s not travelling, that is. Now, he doesn’t travel a lot, but he is out of town for a few days every month, and on those days, I do all the dog-walking. (Yes, I have children. Children who are old enough to walk the dog. Their efforts at dog-walking are so half-assedhearted that I can’t bear to let the dog suffer so.)

Besides, while I can’t say I enjoy trudging into the early-morning minus-27C-with-windchill (YES! STILL!) I don’t mind walking the dog. She takes such joy in the outing, leaping and bounding and shoving her nose into snowbanks and throwing herself bodily to the ground, to writhe in bliss with all four paws in the air.

Joy unbounded, she is. And that is pure pleasure to be part of. Even in minus-27C-with-windchill.

But the morning walks are when I’d normally be sitting here at my laptop. So that’s what happened on Monday, and it’s what’s happening today. Because, hey, I know when I’m cheating. I’m throwing words on the screen, but this is not a real post.

Because I was walking the dog.

indie

(But isn’t she cuuute?)

March 4, 2009 - Posted by | the dog

7 Comments »

  1. She is gorgeous! You can be forgiven for neglecting us, if it means spending time with her.

    Thanks! She’s delightful… though I will be glad, when the Husband returns tonight, to hand the morning walk back into his capable hands.

    Comment by Tammy | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. She’s gorgeous! Is she your only dog?

    Yes. We haven’t had a dog in well over a decade. In fact, some of my friends, knowing that I’ve had cats all that time (and varying caged critters), assumed I was a ‘cat person’. They’re all surprised to discover that I’ve been a ‘dog person’ all along, just one who knew her limits. Three young children, five stepkids and a daycare was ENOUGH. My kids are older now, though, so when the Husband suggested it, I was ready!

    Comment by Sheree | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. She is adorable. And how can we compete with boundless joy. It’s so entertaining to watch how blissful it can be to be dog.

    It is. One of the other dog-owners at the park commented, as we stood there wallowing in the joy, “Dogs are good for the soul.” I had to agree.

    Comment by Dani | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. What a sweet face!

    We think so. We’ve loved that face since we first saw it peering out at us from the Humane Society website, so gentle and hopeful.

    Comment by June | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. my little ones really want to get a dog. currently, we have two goldfish, a hamster and a cat. i think we need to wait a bit. plus, there’s the whole pet shop/breeder/aspca issue. i can’t stand pet shops, i think it’s absolutely cruel to keep those dogs in tiny cages. hate it! hubs will probably want a dog from a breeder, but i’m kind of leaning towards a rescue dog.

    Ours is a rescue, and she’s been just about perfect from day one. It’s such a good match. The advantage of a breeder is that you know exactly what you’re dealing with, and have an idea from the start of their likely personality. The advantage of a rescue (apart from all the touchy-feely good things!) is that mix breeds tend to be physically hardier. If you get your ‘rescue’ as an older dog, 12 months or so, you’ll have a much better idea of their personality. If you want the easiest-going dog on the planet, though, you’ll want a golden retriever. Shed like crazy, of course, and great big mooches for food, but you just don’t get gentler.

    Comment by Dana | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  6. What a gorgeous girl!

    Comment by daysgoby | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  7. beautiful. love the way she is sitting with the stick – btw.. you have grass in -27C? I need to migrate to Canada!

    Bwah-ha. The picture was taken last summer, smarty-pants. I tend not to take my camera out when it’s -27…

    Comment by Suzi | March 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

