It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Incoming!

Ooof. Tired. Soooo tired.

I had a new child here this morning, visiting with her mother. WHAT a ball of (positive) energy! Laughing! Shouting! Laughing! Clapping with glee! Bouncing! Moving from one activity to the next! Talking! with exclamation points!! Laughing! Getting everyone all revved up!!

The daughter is real cute, too.

“Won’t that be a problem?” my sweetie asks, as I recount the morning’s adventures during our mid-day phone call.

“How so?”

“Well, won’t she expect that you’ll interact the same way with her child?”

“Oh, probably. But why would that be a problem?” (I’m teasing. I know exactly what he’s thinking.)

“Because… that’s not exactly your style, is it?”

“You know what? It doesn’t matter at all. Almost all the parents make the same assumption, and it doesn’t matter. They know how they are with their children, and know their child is thriving. They can see their child is thriving with me, too, and so they all assume I’m doing it pretty much the way they do. The only trick is making sure the child thrives.”

“Oh, then you’re fine!” (Isn’t he such a lovely supportive spouse?)

I’m looking forward to this new one. (I haven’t given her a name yet.) But oh my, she’s a bright and lively little cutie! (Just like her mom.) 🙂

March 12, 2009 - Posted by | daycare, parents

3 Comments »

  1. Makes me tired just reading about her, I’d want to take a nap every morning after drop-off. But if you’re game, these lovelies will make good material for blog posts, so who am I to complain?

    Comment by katkins | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Nothing like enthusiasm to endear. Very sweet…on all counts.

    🙂

    Comment by Zayna | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. LOL I remember the super up-happy-ready to go-highly caffeinated Moms I used to work for. My old boss was one, too. But I love the idea of kids thriving where they thrive.

    Comment by elisa | March 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

