It’s Not All Mary Poppins

I’m back!

(Did you notice I was gone?)

I’ve been a bad, bad blogger. I knew I was taking a week off, see, but I thought I’d be blogging through it, so I didn’t mention here. (A week from Thursday to Wednesday. Unusual, yes. I had my reasons.) And then, when I was luxuriating in the oh-so-quiet house, I just… didn’t feel like blogging.

So I didn’t.

Because I was on holiday. And I loved every minute of it. I spent a couple of fun days with Emma, putting the finishing touches on her room reno. I had the weekend with my sweetie.

And then, for the first three days of this week? I had days to myself. Long, blissful days where the only person I had to tend to was ME, where the only demand on my time that was inarguable was walking the dog — and that’s pure pleasure, anyway.

I did housework. I ran errands. I organized. But all on my own time and for the pleasure of seeing a clean and tidy home emerge, and (oh, the thrill) STAY THAT WAY.

At least until the teens got home.

But I will tell you, though they do strew their stuff a bit, they have nothing on five industrious toddlers.

I listened to music (and maybe danced and sang a bit with it). I went for walks. (Without the dog, too.) I chatted on IM a lot more than normal.

And I read. Read, read, read, read, read…

Which reminds me. I guess it’s about time to gear up for the Book Binge again. I’ll post about that on Monday, but those of you who are interested can make a mental note.

Okay. Must finish my nice, quiet cuppa tea, and then set out the activities for the onslaught.

How was YOUR week?

March 26, 2009 - Posted by | books, holidays

6 Comments »

  1. Hey Mary, I did miss you! Glad you enjoyed a nice week off, sounds heavenly.

    Last week I was off but had my seven year old girl and her visiting, same age cousin here too. We went to plays and museums and bookstores, watched movies, ate popcorn and built blanket forts! And they spent a lot of time just independantly playing, reading and painting etc. which allowed me some time to read and relax as well.

    This week I’m back to my hefty 2 day work week at the daycare and i’m exhausted. I have no idea how I did that full time for so many years!!

    Glad you’re back!

    Comment by carrie | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. You know darn well we noticed. 😛

    And I too much prefer doing housework when it’s because I want to. Not because the kids left a big mess or because parents are dropping by in a few hours or because no one else is freakin’ lifting a finger.

    Yay…the book binge! I was hoping you were going to do it again. I’ve got a stack of books lined up.

    Comment by Zayna | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Yes, I noticed! Last week was Spring Break so Miss Pink had no kindergarten and Mr. Blue had no preschool. So in other words, no break for Mama! We had a good week, though–we hung out at home, had playdates, and they spent the night with their grandparents–that part was a break, since my husband and I went out for dinner.

    Comment by Alison @ hairlinefracture | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. missed your posts! finally, FINALLY, felt better and back to my old self. hubs was out of town, so no breaks here!

    Comment by Dana | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. Definitely missed your posts! Glad to have you back. 🙂

    Glad to hear the book binge will be back; although I’m not counting on getting too much done. Surely by then we will have had this baby and then I’m thinking instead of books, there will be a new small person to dote on.

    Comment by Dani | March 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. Book Binge already? Where is my time going?

    Comment by Bethany | March 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

