It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Denying reality is too a coping mechanism!

It’s snowing.

If this were January, I’d be thrilled with today’s weather. It’s above freezing (by one whopping degree but above, nonetheless), and the snow that is falling is more accurately some sort of slushy glop. Not quite rain, but not exactly snow, either.

Spitballs from heaven.

Still, in January, this would be unbelievably mild weather. Warm enough for rain boots and heavy sweaters under rain coats! Amazing! “Let’s go out and play, kids! It’s a BEAUTIFUL day!!!”

But it is not January. Nor February. Nor even March. It is [expletive deleted] April, and, even though I KNOW I have yet to experience a spring in Ottawa that did not involve at least one snowfall sometime in the first two weeks of April…

I am SICK of it.

And I’m not going out in it. Not, not, not. You can’t make me. I’m not even looking out the damned window if I don’t have to. You can’t make me do that, either. And judging from the looks of this…

forecast

I won’t be looking out for the rest of the week. BooooOoOOoo…

April 6, 2009 - Posted by | Canada, Ottawa, the dark side | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Oh, I dig what you’re shoveling, sister. I’m a bit to the left of the Big Smoke, and it has been snowing all day.

    My son was thrilled to play outside all morning and make a snowman. I, having spent yesterday outside in shirtsleeves checking out the neighbours’ crocuses, was not.

    Vile. It’s just vile, to rip spring from us so unkindly. My daughter lives in the same general neck of the province, and she got 10cm yesterday with at least that much on the way. Bleah. Right now I note she’s getting 41 km/hr winds out of the NW, too. BLEAH.

    My crocuses, brave wee things, are still popping their staunch little blooms above the frosty mud. I’m keeping my fingers that your weather will not (as it so often does) wend its way here in the next few days!

    Comment by tuesy | April 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. My boys and husband are going camping in southern GA, but the temps are supposed to go below freezing. Better him than me! They’re packing every blanket they can find.

    I’ll be home covering all my plants with whatever sheets didn’t go camping.

    I used to enjoy camping. Heck, I probably still would if you could guarantee you weren’t going to be held hostage to boozing rowdies at the next campsite until all hours… But I have never, EVER seen the pleasure in winter camping. Brrr.

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | April 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. At least you guys have rain the rest of the week. It’s calling for snow here in London.

    Next day, update: No rain. More snow. Sigh.

    Comment by Debbie | April 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. so not a good time to tell you I’ve been sunbathing in the garden and to the beach this week? no? ok, I’ll go away and pack for our camping holiday 🙂

    Oh, you can just go away. And take your suntan with you.

    Comment by jenny | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  5. My boys played outside today in shorts (not rubbing it in I swear I swear I’m not lol) but they had a water fight. It was 21 degrees here. But it snowed four days ago… lmao. Point- I can’t make you look out the window but darlin look, no now come on look, you might enjoy what you see.

    Who the heck am I fooling? You’re right I’d be depressed too, forget cheering you up. I’m going to mail you some cookies instead 🙂

    I know what snow looks like. Yeah, it’s pretty. So are oil slicks, those iridescent swirls of colour glistening on top of the water. Doesn’t mean we want more of ’em.

    But cookies? You can never have too many cookies! Aren’t you the sweetie for thinking of it! 😀

    Comment by Rants n' Rascals - JP | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  6. It has now been two days of on and off snow. A co-worker’s 4 year old was joyfully singing “winters back” this morning, and for some reason my usual appreciation of happy children was nonexistant.

    Yup. The tots here are all deee-lighted. Little dorks.

    Comment by billarends | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  7. AAAAARRRRGGGGGG!!!!!! I can’t take it!

    I am going to lock myself in the basement – call me when it is at least 20 degrees above freezing.

    Does your basement have any windows? No? Is it well-lit? Yes? I’ll be right over! Mind if I bring a bottle of something?

    Comment by Darcy's Mum | April 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

