It’s Not All Mary Poppins

It’s back…

I have three-and-a-half-year-olds again. Which means, I have knock-knock jokes. Again.

orangeThree-and-a-half-year-olds loooooooooove knock-knock jokes. The pattern! The turn-taking! The predictability! They don’t get them. At all. But, oh! How they LOVE them.

So. I have knock-knock jokes. Again. And that means I have THIS knock-knock joke.

Again.
banana
“Knock, knock.”
“Who’s there?”
“Orange.”
“Orange who?”
“Orangey.”
“Orangey who?”
“Orangey.”
“Orangey who?”
“Orangey didn’t say I a banana?”
“Organgy didn’t say I a banana who?”

(Obviously these two are still learning the form…)

But the question is… WHO teaches them this one? WHO?

And WWWWWHHHHYYYYY?

April 15, 2009 - Posted by | Developmental stuff, the things they say! | ,

7 Comments »

  1. knock knock
    who’s there?
    banana pants! ha! ha! ha!
    repeat ad nauseum

    and I know the culprit- my nephew (five years ago!) when he was of the bad knock knock age. We can’t make this one go away.

    Try this one on them and see if you can get a laugh:
    knock knock
    who’s there?
    the interrupting cow
    the interrupting cow wh—
    –moooo!

    Hey, that one actually made me laugh! (NOT the ‘banana pants’ one.)

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. I know who teaches it to them. MY HUSBAND. We have been listening to that joke (never, ever told so that it makes sense) for 5 years.

    Funny, isn’t it? I haven’t told the joke properly, you never hear the joke properly, but you all know how it should go. It’s viral.

    Comment by Tammy | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. When I taught preschool I realized it was so easy to make up knock-knock jokes – all you have to do is use “the clown.”

    Knock knock,
    who’s there?
    clown.
    clown who?
    clown went to the circus, and then he (insert random thing happening here – slipped on a banana peel and fell down on his butt, rode a walrus to the moon, put on some funny pants and did the hula, etc.).

    Guaranteed laughs every time!

    They love to laugh, but don’t really ‘get’ jokes at this age, do they?

    Comment by Kiera | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. We’re going through a knock-knock phase as well. My least favorite:

    Knock-knock.
    Who’s there?
    Will.
    Will who?
    Will you [please] stop saying that?

    UGH. Just typing it makes my left eye twitch.

    That one’s just insult to injury. You’re being [rudely] criticized for partaking in something you’re only doing TO BE POLITE. Argh!

    Comment by Clementine | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. Confusing Apples and Oranges or in this case Bananas and Oranges, is easy when you’re 3 and a half.

    “Knock, knock.”
    “Who’s there?”
    “Banana.”
    “Banana who?”
    “Knock, knock.”
    “Who’s there?”
    “Banana.”
    “Banana who?”
    “Knock, knock.”
    “Who’s there?”
    “Banana.”
    “I said Banana who?”
    “Knock, knock.”
    “Who’s there?”
    “Orange.”
    “Orange who?”
    “Orange ya Glad I didn’t say Banana?”

    Ha Ha Ha

    AAAAAAAGH!!!! Fingers in my ears, LALALA I CAN’T HEAR YOU!!!

    I suppose some people here — those who spent their childhoods under a rock or, not under a rock but in a blessedly non-English speaking part of the globe — might be thanking you.

    Thought the punch line? It’s “Orange you glad Banana went away?” 😀

    Comment by billarends | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. Oh my gaaaawwwwd! I can’t even handle it!

    And it just goes on and on and on…

    Comment by Coley Moley!!! | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. knock knock
    who’s there?
    lettuce
    lettuce who?
    lettuce in, it’s cold out here!

    knock knock
    who’s there?
    boo
    boo who?
    It’s just a joke, you don’t have to cry about it!

    My favourite:
    knock knock
    who’s there?
    little old lady
    Little old lady who?
    Hey, I didn’t know you could yodel!

    And I love the interrupting cow one from above, it’s been a favourite around here lately. Yes, even our language-strong almost-five-year-old doesn’t REALLY get them yet. it can be painful, but also pretty darn funny.

    Comment by kittenpie | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

