It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Hello!

Ennui. When you know there are things you could be doing, and you just can’t summon up the energy. When you know there are things you should be doing, and you just don’t care. When you know there are things to worry about, worries that should spur you into action, and you can’t even manage to worry much.

That’s where I’ve been, for about a month, forcing myself to go through the motions, because the motions needed to be done. Bleah. So last week, I decided that, for a week, I’d just go with it, give myself a week off from doing anything other than barest of essentials. And no, blogging is not among the “barest of essentials”.

I could have told you I was doing that… but I was too deep in that whole ennui thing to do it.

It must have worked, though, because on Friday I had enough pep to take the kids to the National Gallery!!! Scarcely a “barest of essential” sort of outing.

We had a good time.

gallery 008

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | Canada, Ottawa, outings | , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Oh, I know that feeling. Glad you have beaten it Mary, and I hope to see you back to your old sparky self soon!

    Comment by Merrilee Faber | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you. The time out helped, I think.

      Comment by MaryP | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. i hope you get some warmer, sunnier weather up there!

    Comment by Dana | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • It’s beautifully sunny today. We’ve had a few days of rain — but it is spring, after all — and today (hurrah!), nothing but sun. 🙂

      Comment by MaryP | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Spring is the best cure for ennui. Hope you get lots of it!

    Comment by rosie_kate | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • I agree. On both counts!

      Comment by MaryP | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I know those feelings. Sometimes you just need to step back and recharge for a bit. Glad to hear that the week off helped a bit.

    Comment by Danielle | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • I think so. Today, writing seemed like a pleasure instead of a burdensome obligation. Much better!

      Comment by MaryP | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. Surely some signs of spring will help pull you out of it. Maybe you and the kids can plant flowers. Glad to have you back.

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • We’re seeing the signs. Grey, rainy days are a sign of spring, of course, but we all prefer the greening grass, budding trees, crocuses, tulips, daffodils… and we’re getting all that! (Today, I note, it’s also gloriously sunny.) Planting flowers, though? Too soon! We’ll have to wait another month before the soil’s warm enough.

      Comment by MaryP | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. I just need to say that sculpture is from my nightmares. Yikes.

    If I were to think of it as ‘real’, it would be pretty horrifying. I seem to be able not to do that, so it’s just interesting. The underside of her body is a basket in which are enormous marble eggs, which, for some reason, fascinates me.

    Comment by kittenpie | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  7. What did you read, 18 books for Book Binge in April? No wonder you needed a bit of a break. Glad to see you’re back!

    Reading is my break! But I’m feeling better now, that’s for sure. (And am on my fourth or fifth book this month!)

    Comment by karmacoy | May 13, 2009 | Reply

  8. […] when to say ‘when’ I’d been dragging for a while. You know how it is: things take work, nothing is really interesting, everything — even […]

    Pingback by Knowing when to say ‘when’ « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | June 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

