It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Why, why, why, why

… do parents send children with toys that make noise?

woody

“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”
“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”
“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”

My theory: They’re hoping it’ll get lost or broken at my place.

“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”
“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”

And you know? There’s a good chance it might. Some days more than others…

“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”
“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”
“Howdy, partner!”
“My name’s Woody!”
“Yer mah favrite deputy!”
“Yee-haw!”
“There’s a snake in my boot!”

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | parents, the dark side |

7 Comments »

  1. haha! We have this Woody at our house. Luckily we were blessed with kids who didn’t pull the cord every two seconds, though, so he hasn’t managed to annoy us.

    The Ernie violin with no volume control, though? That found it’s way into a snowbank after I fired it out the door one dark wintery night.

    Don’t worry the kids didn’t see me do it, they just wondered what had happened to their favourite instrument. Needless to say, it didn’t work very well once we rediscovered it in the spring melt.

    Ha! The image of you pitching that thing into a midnight snowbank in the depths of housebound winter exasperation made me laugh out loud.

    Comment by tuesy | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. A friend gave one of my aunt’s toddlers a horrifically noisy light-flashing toy. The kid loved it, of course. So my aunt went out and bought a duplicate toy and stuffed it in the back of an upper closet shelf.

    A dozen years later, when the friend had a toddler of her own, my aunt hauled the duplicate toy out of the closet and gave it to the friend’s toddler.

    Oh, my. There’s a woman with a finely-tuned sense of revenge, and a whole lot of patience. But no one can argue the perfect justice of her solution.

    Comment by Helen | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh, it could be worse. We have a Woody doll who has a guitar and he (read: the child) has to “strum” it to make it work but then a “string breaks” and the child (read: you) has to “tune” it to make it work again.

    All that said, I actually love that doll because it reminds me of little three-year-old Christopher and boy was I crazy about three-year-old Christopher (not that I don’t love 12-year-old Christopher…but three is definitely in my top five favorite ages).

    When Emma was little, her dad bought her one of those. After a week or two here, we decided her doll liked daddy’s house better…

    Three is one of my faves, too, along with 18 – 24 months, seven years, and fifteen/sixteen years. Thirteen – fourteen? Oh, the angst! Oh, the mood swings! Oh, the drrraaaaaahma!

    Comment by Candace | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m just jealous that that kid has that Woody doll. I want one but I don’t really have the $35 to spend at the Disney Store.

    Really? You want one? Hm. I could probably arrange for you to get one in the mail. Mysteriously. From an Unknown Donor…

    Comment by Debbie | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Come on Mary! Don’t you just LOVE those kind of toys?

    Hehehe πŸ™‚

    In the words of Otis of Bloom County: “PHPHPHPHBBHT!”

    Comment by ~S~ | July 9, 2009 | Reply

  6. hee, hee, hee! we have this same toy, but i swear he says “There’s a snack in my boot!”

    That’s the kids’ FAVOURITE line. Maybe they’re thinking it’s about food, too?

    Comment by Dana | July 9, 2009 | Reply

  7. My youngest was given a Teletubby who goes “Aaah” as if she just orgasmed every time someone sits on her.

    Comment by Mwa | July 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

