It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Name those children, again

hello-my-name-isI haven’t told you yet, but those interviews I had a while back were successful!

I have two little boys coming these days, brothers, who will be with me only until the end of December. After the Christmas break I will get another little girl. So that’s that. When the little girl starts in January, I should be set for another year.

The brothers are fun. The younger is a year old, and I have yet to see a more painless transition to daycare. Barely a backward glance, and not a single tear, this boy has plunged himself headlong into the fray. And when he plunges anywhere, you’d best give way. This boy is a TANK. “Solid” does not begin to describe it. Not fat. He’s a normal height-to-weight baby. But hoo, boy, this child is DENSE. Built like a brick shi*thouse, to use one of my grandfather’s earthy colloquialisms.

Evidently Little Brother got all the “solid” genes, because Big Brother is a red-headed, blue-eyed willowy wisp of a boy. Both boys are friendly little guys, but whereas Little Brother charges into his day without a backward glance, you can see the strain of the change on Big Brother.

Not that he complains, mind you. Once in a while, though, he finds a quite place to stand, all by himself, and his eyes get red-rimmed and a bit watery. Not that he cries. He doesn’t. Mommy and Daddy have assured him that he will have fun, and that they expect him to try to get along and to be brave. And he is. Not one real tear has ever overflowed those red-rimmed eyes.

Doesn’t that break your heart, just a little? It makes mine go a little wobbly. What a great little guy! The flip side is that he’s very gregarious. He doesn’t moon around, stoic and soulful all day. Those are passing moment. Mostly, we have stuff like this:

“Want to play this card game with me?” he invites Emily. On his second day with me. His second day of daycare in his whole, entire life. “You can have these cards, and I will have these ones.” (And the piles, I might add, are pretty much equal.) When Emily is uncertain, he crouches in front of her and smiles. “Come on! It’ll be FUN!!”

And then my heart goes all wobbly again. This is bravery, no question about it. It deserves Emily’s enthusiastic acceptance, but Emily is uncertain, inclined, I can tell, to say ‘no’.

Gah! Rejected? When he’s being SO BRAVE, on his second day here? Can’t happen! Normally the type to stand back and watch these situations, I’m not leaving this one up to fate…

“Oh, yes! That sounds like a LOT of fun, doesn’t it, Emily?” I’m just SOOOO HAPPY that BB thought of such a WONDERFUL game, Emily simply can’t imagine saying no. Her face breaks into a smile. (Ah, the power of emotional manipulation guidance.)

She agrees, and they had fun. Phew.

I would have played with them, too, just to keep things moving smoothly, but I’m too busy keeping Little Brother from climbing onto the dining room table. Or into his high chair. Or up the stair railings. Or along the back of the couch. Or onto the kitchen counter. Or…

Nissa is “busy”. Little Brother is a Climber. (Your prayers, kind thoughts, good vibes, whatever, would be appreciated…)

So. Two new little boys, Mr. Brave and Willing 4-year-old and Baby Brother, the Climber.

Any suggestions for names?

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | daycare, The Tots

15 Comments »

  1. Rocky for the young bulldozer. Self explanatory I suppose. And William for the brave four year old. I think William is a strong name with a genteel poise. They sound fun. My almost two year old sounds just like your solid one. Yet she is a girl and quite possibly half squirrel.

    Comment by Jenn H | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oooh, I’ll just second Rocky and William. Great ideas! Can’t wait to hear more about these two.

    Comment by Sarah | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. I like William, or Henry for big brother. Hmmm…or Charles (Lindbergh) for his bravery?

    I like Rocky for the little brother…or Dozer, or Tank. Or even Edmund (Hillary) for his climbing? It could be Ed or Eddie, if Edmund sounds too refined. But I like it.

    Love that you invite help to name them!

    Comment by Carolie | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Small: Jack. Big: The Beanstalk.

    Comment by katkins | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hmm . . . your description of Big Brother reminds me of David Copperfield.

    Little Brother sounds exactly like my son! I can’t suggest any of the many names other people had for him because they were all horrible! I’m thinking of athletes I’ve read about who had tons of energy and needed guidance to find productive ways to use it: swimmer Michael Phelps, gymnast Bart Conner, skateboarder Tony Hawk. My son found theater as a way to focus his energy, and I often think of Robin Williams. The name Robin might cause some gender confusion for your US readers, though.

    Comment by Meg | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. I like Henry or William for the BB. Or maybe Percy.

    Tank, Dozer and Rocky are awesome ideas for LB.

    Good luck with the names!!

    Comment by Amy | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. How long have they been with you? Long enough to be past the “You mean I have to do this every day? I think I’ll be hysterical” benchmark? Or is it still the honeymoon period? I like Tank for the little one and the big one sounds like an Edward. Don’t know why, he just does.

    Honeymoon, at the moment, but when they return after the weekend, I’m pretty sure that little brother, at any rate, will have reached the “I think I’ll be hysterical” stage. He was showing glimmers of it this morning.

    Comment by jwg | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. For a stocky, stout younger brother, how about Barney? (As in, Barney Rubble.)

    Comment by Nev | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. Younger brother: Tor. Your descriptions just remind me of a little guy I taught, years ago. For Big brother: I really like William!

    Comment by Tammy | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. I’m not so good at names in English. I was thinking of Willow for the oldest, but then I suppose that’s for a girl. Wills? And Basher for the youngest, but then I know that’s from a film and I’m not sure which.

    Comment by Mwa | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. Wow, kinda creeped out by this but I thought William too for older brother this morning. I mulled it over and thought I would comment later.

    Seems like I was not the only one.

    Though I do have to admit, nothing came immediately to mind for the babe who loves to climb and move…still nothing.

    Comment by Zayna | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. I definitely think Tank for the little brother. For the older brother, I think William is okay. I don’t feel as strongly as I do about Tank, though.

    Comment by Lara | August 15, 2009 | Reply

  13. I found your blog through the lemondrop link and wasn’t sure I was going to follow until I read this! I provide daycare for two red headed, blue eyed brothers, and the little one is also beyond solid. We call him Bubba. His older brother isn’t quite as old as your guy, only 2 1/2, but he is also sweet, brave and has mastered the pathetic lower lip quiver and tears welling up in those big blue eyes but not falling. My Big Brother is a bit of an imp though, and will run and pretend to sleep on the couch at meal and nap times – he even fake snores. I call him by his full first and middle names, and his middle name is Patrick. (Though I like William as well.)

    My climber is my son, and so far the only cure I have is to remove everything that he climbs on from the room… not really an ideal solution, as every day my kitchen and counter tops fill up with random little chairs, totes and baskets.

    Comment by Melissa | August 15, 2009 | Reply

  14. […] Remember William and his little brother, […]

    Pingback by Battery boy « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | April 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

