It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Note to (particular) parents

If you are going to drop your child off two hours late, you’d best call me, because…

…if you don’t, I’m liable to decide she’s not coming at all, and…

…if I can’t reach you at home or at work (though, really, it’s not my resposibility to find you)…

…I’m liable to take the children out.

If I do…

we won’t be here when you come…

…and, when you call me on my cell phone…

…I will probably tell you where I am, so you can drop her to us…

And NO, I won’t come back to the house.

And if I don’t come back to the house?…

You do NOT have the right to be upset and rude.

And when I find out that you were late and didn’t call NOT because…

your house was on fire…

your child puking in your lap…

your cell phone broken…

your grandmother on the brink of death…

But only because your child was playing with a neighbour child and didn’t want to leave yet…

I am not likely to feel any more in the wrong.

Nanny-nanny-poop-poo fuuu– PHPHPHBHBHTTT!!! So THERE! Arrogant pri–

Thank you.

August 20, 2009 - Posted by | daycare, parents, Peeve me, the dark side

15 Comments »

  1. thanks for the laugh- you are not in the wrong, but if I were you I’d be tempted to leave sooner next time and go further.

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. Perhaps turn your cell phone off for a bit, the next time you go out, as well! (“Accidentally,” of course.) 😉

    Comment by LoryKC | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. Yup. This reminds me of tutoring students who do not respect my time.

    Comment by bridgett | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. I would fear for my life if I did that to my child care provider!
    If it weren’t “punishment” for you I would suggest taking a loooong walk at the end of the day, right around the time those parents pick up, and tell them you are late coming home because their child just wasn’t ready to leave the park!

    Comment by Tammy | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow, some people are just in their own little world! Loved your little tirade – made me laugh 🙂

    Comment by Susan | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. I find this sort of entitled arrogance annoying. It is akin to saying “I am the only person on the planet that matters you should have waited for me.”

    The phrase “expects the world to stop for them,” is very appropriate. Do these people not know that the rest of the world thinks they are arrogant Prats?

    Comment by billarends | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. After nannying and working in a school for years, it still amazes me how some parents think we will totally rearrange our schedule for their child/family. As if we are only caring for one child! Argh.

    Comment by Bethany | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. I can’t even imagine approaching that (as the parent) without profuse apologies and explanations. I certainly wouldn’t be annoyed. After all if I’m late to whatever I was going to afterward? Then I should have brought my child on time. argh.

    Comment by Dani | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. What in the world do the parents do, that allows them to be two hours late in the morning! Obviously if their child is in care, then they have somewhere to be. I don’t think my care provider, nor my boss for that matter would accept the excuse that my child was playing and didn’t want to leave yet. WOW!

    Comment by Tammy | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  10. You cannot imagine how hard I started laughing when I read this. I have been dealing with this from one family in my daycare all summer long. The children and I left every single day to walk to the local parks and every single day the same family had to call and find out where we were. Most of the time they were arriving when the children and I were getting ready to return home. Finally, they came to me saying how upset their child was that they didn’t get go with us and they felt that I didn’t care wether or not their child participated in activities with the other children. I reminded them that everyone had given me a schedule upon starting daycare and being consistant with arrivals/departures. Well…It’s August and nothing has changed. They still track us down daily. I dream the words consistant schedule at night. lol.

    Comment by Theresa | August 20, 2009 | Reply

  11. Oh Lord, how frustrating is that?

    Just one more of the many reasons I couldn’t do what you do Mary. Nevermind the potty training, it’s the parent training that I couldn’t tolerate.

    Comment by Zayna | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  12. Wat to go Mary! Oh, you had me crackin up. I agree, you should ‘accidently’ turn your phone off next time. Hahaha!

    Comment by ~S~ | August 21, 2009 | Reply

  13. You tell them, MaryP!

    Comment by Mwa | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  14. Mary, this post is hilarious. What a way with words. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Marci | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  15. I have to say I am one who wishes that it worked that way because my schedule is all over the place, and I like to try to take a bit of time with my kids on the mornings when I work late and won’t see them at night. Still, I am trying to find a way to get a bit of that without totally screwing up my caregiver’s plans, so I bring him in about 9:30 even on my late days, but might try to bring him in AFTER their outing on one day a week, at 11:30, so I can have that time. it’s difficult to mesh sometimes, which makes Pumpkinpie’s centre-based care easier, since they will always be onsite, even when they are having outside time in the playground, so it allows me to be more fluid with her drop-off. But no matter what, to expect you to come back to the house for them? WRONG. They can meet up with you, if it’s possible for you given that you may have left with a smaller stroller or less lunch or what-have-you.

    I don’t object to late drop-offs. I do expect to be told when to expect the child, so I can make appropriate arrangements (such as stroller and snack, as you note). What I objected to here was the lack of communication, and resultant complete disregard of my convenience and the needs of the other children. So disrespectful!

    Comment by kittenpie | September 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

