It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy September!

welcome-back-chalkboard-sign400Ah, isn’t it nice, after two wonderful weeks spent relaxing, catching up, getting ahead, travelling, visiting, hanging out, having festive drinks on sunny patios… isn’t it nice to be back into the usual routines?

Meh. I don’t think so, either.

However, I am looking forward to seeing the little critters back again this morning.

Will Nissa be as much a lunatic as before?
Will Tank still be clambering up onto dining room tables?
Will Noah be talking in full sentences? (He was up to three to five words when he left.)
How will Emily and William make the adjustment to junior kindergarten, and half-day care?

I’ve moved all tissue boxes up from Nissa-level end tables. I’ve put the high chairs back at the dining table and returned the bins of blocks to the kitchen. This morning’s snack is ready in the fridge, our outing planned, and a back-up craft activity prepared should those clouds turn into actual rain.

I’m good to go. All I need now are the tots.

Ah. Maybe it is good to be back.

September 8, 2009 - Posted by | daycare

6 Comments »

  1. good to have you back! sounds like you had a restful vacation!

    Comment by Dana | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Welcome back and the best of luck to you! Although, based on the clarity and thoughtfulness of your post, it sounds like you will not be needing any such thing. Good call on the back-up craft activity.

    Comment by Nanny Placement Agency | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I love love love routine. It’s better than crack. At least, I assume it is. Never needed to try crack, because I had routine.

    Comment by Mwa | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. I love the questions; they reminded me of the old soap opera endings, back in the day.

    I personally don’t care for the end of long weekends (it was a holiday for us here yesterday), and I especially don’t like them when one kid is home sick. Already. It’s going to be a long school year.

    Comment by Candace | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ah, good to have you back! I was afraid you were gone for good!

    Comment by Sarah | September 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. I felt the same way when school was starting this year 🙂

    Comment by Bethany | September 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

