It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Happy Thanksgiving!

I’m not here.

I’m in the kitchen,
basting the turkey
roasting the potatoes
marinating the vegetables for salad
pureeing the sweet potato and rutabaga
stuffing the squash
(with quinoa, sunflower seeds and parmesan)
toasting the bread cubes and walnut
(to put in the stuffing)
mulling the wine
chopping cranberries for the cranberry relish
heating the apple cider
putting the cut flowers in the vase
strewing the table with pretty leaves
whipping the cream
to go on the (store-bought)
pumpkin and
apple pies.

And I’m loving it. All so that I can sit round the table with some of the people I love the best.

Happy Thanksgiving, fellow Canadians!

October 12, 2009 - Posted by | Canada, holidays | ,

6 Comments »

  1. Same to you! We did our dinner early, on Saturday. But today I will still be loving the leftovers.

    Comment by Tammy | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Mary! We did our dinner yesterday but I spent the two days prior in the kitchen. Today it’s leftovers and relaxing.

    I didn’t do all that on one day, of course — but it makes an impressive list, no?? I pulled the turkey from the freezer and into the fridge on Friday. I made the winter veg. salad then, too. The squash/cauliflower/rutabaga puree and cranberry relish were on Saturday. The marinade for the salad, sage butter for the brussels sprouts, and stuffing for the turkey on Sunday, leaving only the turkey and stuffed squash for Monday.

    Easy.

    Well, not easy so much, but not that hard, and mucho fun!

    Comment by Zayna | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to you! I’m totally envious, ours is still too far away. Yummy menu, by the way!

    Thank you. I will post any recipes any of you ask for, how’s that?

    Comment by elisa | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Sounds heavenly!

    It was very nice. My favourite part? The cranberry relish, something I’d never made before. Very tasty! Thank you, Canadian Living. (It’s a magazine, one of my favourites, and always has great recipes. I checked the site for the recipe I used, and didn’t find it. I can send you it, if you like.)

    Comment by Candace | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. yum! i’m in the mood now!

    Comment by Dana | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’d love some recipes. I get out of Thanksgiving cooking by living 400 miles from dinner. I take wine and (homemade) pie. But, I love to cook and with the weather starting to think fall, I’m ready to try some wintery meals. How ’bout recipes for the marinated veggies and the sweet potato and rutabaga combo?

    Got any suggestions for eggplants?

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | October 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

