It’s Not All Mary Poppins

A B C D oops, no, wait…

firstcdnabcDid you know…

A is for truck,
B is for shoes,
C is for moo-cow
D is for puppy
E is for elephant. (Once in a while, they have to hit one, no?)
F is for doggy,
G is for duck — and strawberries
H is for horsie!
I is for ice cream!
J is for dolly,
K is for boy,
L is for yellow,
M is for momocyle!
N is for eggs,
O is for birdies,
P is for rocks,
Q is for bankie,
R is for bunny,
S is for teddy (thing is, they were right! Surely, if you’re going to put a toy on the slide on the s-page, you’d make sure it started with s?),
T is for choo-choo,
U is for horsie,
V is for fruit,
W is for waffles!!
X is for piano,
Y is for yogurt (probably because they’d just seen me eat some for breakfast),
and
Z is for zebra!!!

Alphabet books are lost on toddlers…

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | books | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. lovin’ the momocycle. We have a color book and on the “brown” page there is a boy in brown clothes, with brown hair, brown eyes… holding a gray stuffed koala. huh?

    You wonder what they’re thinking… (I’m lovin’ the momocycle, too. I refuse to correct it, I love it so much.)

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. We have the same book. It is one of my son’s favourites and I thought I had every page memorized, but you have me stumped with A is for truck. What are they seeing on the A page that looks like a truck? Is it the airplane? I’m with the kids on B is for shoes. To Canadians, used to big honkin’ gumboots for spring and fall, and even bigger snowboots for winter, those piddly little things on the B page are SHOES, not boots!

    It’s the ambulance. I agree about those ‘boots’. In fact, Emily has a pair very much like them that she wears these days… and we call them ‘shoes’. Because those things? Would not help at all in the snow or the mud, and that, my friends, defines “boots” in this country.

    Comment by Dragon | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. The one that made me laugh out loud was, “G is for duck – and strawberries”

    Lots of things are lost on toddlers but I would argue that the pure joy of toddlers is lost on many adults. I’m just glad I’m not one of them.

    Too cute. 😛

    Which were, for you and me, a goose and grapes. Yes, you think they’d know what a bunch of grapes were. I feed them to them often enough, but someone in the crew called that bunch of (green!) grapes “strawberries” only last week!

    Comment by Zayna | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. So cute!!! Kids are inventive, I’ll give them that~ 😉

    Comment by Bethany | November 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

