It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Harrumph

1208847_girl_with_a_sour_face“Are you working on Remembrance Day?”
“Yes, I am.”

If you have the day off, but opt to send your child to childcare, your caregiver will not resent that. Every parent deserves the luxury of the odd kid-free day.

“Oh, that’s great! My wife was hoping for a day off.”

But you know, it would be sensitive and, you know, tactful not to go on and on and ON about it.

“I’m just so happy about tomorrow! I have so many things planned! So much I’m going to get done! It’s so great to have hours of peace and quiet!”

Because, though she understands your excitement, the fact that you have the day off means that your caregiver (ahem) doesn’t, and it would be a kindness not to gloat too openly.

“Hello, sweetie! Mummy’s here! …Oh, am I the last parent?”
“Yes. Actually, you’re ten minutes late.”

And, when you take that glorious day off? The one that your caregiver, through her dedication and professionalism, is enabling you to enjoy?

Show up on time.

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | daycare, parents, Peeve me, the dark side

5 Comments »

  1. And just because the people who pay us for your care say we have to be open on Xmas eve that doesn’t mean you get to go shopping and show up at 6.

    I honestly don’t understand that. Don’t they want to be home with their family on Christmas Eve? Even if they don’t, do they imagine you don’t, too? So selfish.

    Comment by jwg | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Harrumph indeed!

    My sister had a caregiver who gave parents a total of 10 minutes to be late…as soon as it reached the 11 minute mark she charged for an extra half hour.

    At first I thought this was harsh and then I spent a summer caring for 6 kids (on top of my own two – all school age, all potty trained) and I can relate.

    “I know I’m late…sorry. Just thought I’d take the opportunity to do a little shopping after work.”

    Ten minutes might not seem like much to the parent but to the caregiver with her own family to worry about, dinner to prepare and uh, life…well, that’s just rude. Day off or not.

    It is rude. And as I said to ~S~, I feel that it’s less excusable to be late on a day off, when your schedule is ENTIRELY within your control, than it is on a work day, when it’s not.

    Your sister’s nicer than I am. My closing time is my closing time, and my late fees start at one minute past that time. Give them that 10-minute leeway, and you’d have that one parent who ALWAYS showed up 9 minutes late. Lots of people NEED deadlines.

    Comment by Zayna | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. How rude!

    It wasn’t very nice of them to gloat about having a free day. I’m sure you would have LOVED to have been off too! They should be greatful you worked, cause they wouldn’t of had a free day!

    Being late is just non excusable!

    In fairness, I’m quite sure she didn’t perceive it as gloating (even though it was). She was just genuinely gleeful. But insensitive? Yup!

    When you have the whole day off, when you’re not having to stay at work until a set hour and then fight the rush hour traffic? NO excuse for being late. The other family who also had the day off got there half an hour early, with thanks to me for giving them the day off. Maybe I should post about them, too, to show how it should be done!

    Comment by ~S~ | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. I sympathise – being self-employed, we get no paid time off, ever, either.

    Thanks for the sympathy, but in fact I have paid days off in my contract! This one, though, is not one I’ve been able to take: only about half my parents get it off, and it seems too much of an inconvenience. I had Thanksgiving Monday in October and I’ll have Christmas in December, after all. (It’s an odd holiday here: some provinces get it, some don’t. In Ontario, on employees of the federal government and certain other groups who’ve got it in their contracts get it.)

    Comment by Z | November 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. And if you take your child to daycare on your day off, be honest about it! Saying you have to work and then taking off your nametag and work shirt in your car while right outside of the daycare is going to make me angry. Just saying you have some things to get done is not going to make me angry.

    Be honest, or at least be smart. Not only are they lying to you, but they’re doing it badly. Someone really did that? Wow.

    Comment by C | November 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

