It’s Not All Mary Poppins

It’s a bird! It’s a plane!

It’s SUPER-TODDLER!!!

Five of them, in fact. No real post today. I am in the throes of creating FIVE little super-hero capes, each made of red satin (40% off at FabricLand this week!). No pictures yet. Have yet to download photo-handling software onto my new laptop. Sorry.

Each cape will be emblazoned with the child’s initial on the back (in blue satin), shot through with a shiny gold lightning bolt. It’s the initial/bolt combination that makes me the most nervous: in order to avoid all that nit-picky edge-stitching, I’m glueing them in place with double-sided fusible interfacing. I’ve never used that stuff before, and I have moments of anxiety in which I imaging totally ruining an otherwise perfect cape in the very last step…

Eep.

But for now, it’s a great idea! I can’t find the website where I got the initial-lightning bolt idea (though a quick google showed me this is far from an original idea). I got the pattern for the cape from The Little Red Hen, though mine won’t have hoods.

Now I need an idea for the baby, who, though nine months old, is not yet crawling. A cape would be cute, I guess, but pointless apart from the cute factor, and, when she starts crawling, it’d just be cruel. (Like dresses on crawling babies. Their little knees get as far up the inside of the skirt as the bodice, and then they’re trapped, poor mites. Who puts dresses on crawling babies, except for that adorable red velvet number for the requisite Santa picture? Which, if you’re sane, is whipped on seconds before the picture, and whipped off immediately after.)

Sorry. Tangent. Still seeking gift idea for non-crawling nine-month-old. But the capes? So far? AMAZING!!

December 8, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, crafts | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. How about a very short cape…not the superhero-type, but the type that women wear around their shoulders?

    I could, but it would mean another trip to the fabric store, which is kind of out of the way. But cute idea! Hm.

    Comment by Bev | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ooooo, a short cape would be adorable. Or some kind of hat?

    I once made adorable hats for my girls when they were little. But again, it’d require a second trip to that awkward-to-get-to store.

    Comment by Sarah | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. You could get a long-sleeve onesie and put the initial and lightening bolt on the front, which is where most superheroes have their designs anyway!

    THAT is a fabulous idea! I have leftover gold fabric and blue satin for the initial and bolt, AND extra interfacing, so no trip to fabric store required. Onesies are easy to find. I am so doing this. Thank you!

    Comment by Kiera | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. One of my child care families gave handmade capes to all of my child care kids for Christmas. That was two years ago, and the kids still use my daughter’s cape on a weekly basis. Your kids (and their families) are going to love your gift! I just made hats for my child care children…they’ll like the hats, I think, but they REALLY loved those capes!

    Comment by Clementine | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. I think the onesie idea is a great one! A favorite gift I like to make is fabric blocks. Six small squares of fabric (don’t even have to match, really), sewn into a cube and stuffed makes one. I usually give five, so they can make a small pyramid.

    Comment by Kristy | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. i say a bib with matching lightning bolt logo!

    Comment by Dana | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  7. You give them gifts. Oh. Sigh.
    (I hate our creche sometimes.)

    Comment by Mwa | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  8. That sounds adorable!

    I like the lightning bib idea. Or maybe little wings on a winter sweater or coat?

    Comment by ifbyyes | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. Oooh!! I was just going to get sewing on some capes tomorrow. I’m found a bunch of fancy fabric remnants on clearance and I’m making a pile of them for the kids on my list.

    Kids just love capes. It’s amazing. I never knew that before I had a 4 year old.

    Comment by rosie_kate | December 8, 2009 | Reply

  10. Kiera’s hit it right on the nose! I was going to suggest an initial and lightning bolt on a onesie or t-shirt.

    I LOVE the cape ideas. Capes are so wonderful, for superheroes and royalty and musketeers…my brothers and I often had bath towels pinned to our shirt shoulders, or baby blankets knotted around our necks. What we wouldn’t have given for initials — with a LIGHTNING BOLT! You are too cool!

    Comment by Carolie | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. […] I have brilliant readers, extra interfacing and leftover lightning-bolt material, so I can make a wee superhero shirt for […]

    Pingback by Mis-steps and recoveries « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | December 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

