It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Winter

…is here. After hesitating throughout November, appearing in the forecasts, only to retreat coyly when the predicted time arrived, winter arrived with a bang. Fifteen to twenty centimeters, swept in on 45km/hr winds (gusts of 60 – 70 k). Overnight.

Ka-boom!

It’s WINTER out there.

The children, of course, are delighted! So excited, so ready to get out and play, in their new mittens and new boots and new snowpants and new coats…

And me?

I’m feeling inert. I know I should get them out. It’s beautiful out there. Mild and a bit melty, which is perfect snowman weather. Perfect. I could dig out the kid-sized shovels and take them for a flounder in the drive. I could get them into

their new snowpants
(with the zippers and the snaps and the velcro and the elastic)
and their new coats,
(with the zippers and the snaps and the velcro and the toggles)
(or their hand-me-down onesie-style snowsuits, as the case may be)
their new vests
(zippers, velcro)
and neck-warmers
and fleeces
(zips and/or velcro)
and hats
(velcro and/or ties)
and wooly socks
and scarves
and sweaters
(some with buttons)
and leggings
and boots
(with liners, velcro, elastics and/or toggles)
and leg-warmers…

But somehow? Somehow the very thought of a FUN!!! outing to PLAY IN THE SNOW!!! just fills me with ennui… (Though really, I know I should be shouting “THANK GOD FOR VELCRO!!!!”… but I’m not.)

The battle is on:
I know the sunlight will do me good
and the fresh air will do them good
and they’re so cute, floundering about in the snow,
and really,
they’ll last about 14 minutes before they’re
COLD!!!!
and want to go in, anyway…

and suddenly, there’s that ennui thing again.

Yup, it’s winter, all right…

December 10, 2009 - Posted by | Canada | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ugh. I hear you about the ennui. Winter has arrived with a bang here in Michigan as well, except with less snow and with horrible bitter-cold wind. At least it’s too bone-chilling to actually go outside… we’ll stay in a and make gingerbread men instead.

    We went out, but I’m telling you, pushing through the inertia was accomplished only through sheerest dint of will-power. Phew. I wish I’d had the excuse of bitter cold!

    Comment by Rosie_Kate | December 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. And all that effort! Can’t you just send them out in their normal clothes for five minutes instead? 😉

    Mwah-ha. That would solve a lot of problems, all at once: no snowsuits, no boots, no scarves… no job.

    Comment by Mwa | December 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. toddler snow suits. stick in zip up out have fun. Just an idea. Do they exist?

    Oh, I may have been exaggerating juuust a smidge. For effect, you know. In all honesty, the snowsuits aren’t that difficult, and I am, after all, a seasoned professional. It does take 15 or 20 or so minutes to get five tots out the door, but it’s not impossible, by any stretch. I think what was getting to me yesterday was the thought of the months and months of this ahead of me…

    Comment by cartside | December 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. I live in a sub-tropical clime now, but there was a time when I worked in a childcare centre in a very non-tropical clime. Oh how I hated the readying of 20 0-3 year olds for outside play. Hated, do you hear me? Hated. Yes. I know you do.

    Commiserations. (Hope you enjoyed the snow anyhow!)

    It’s nice to know there are others out there who share the feeling. It’s sooo tedious. Yes, the snow was fun, and the children delightful. If only I could figure out some way to teleport us from my front hall to the street, effortlessly…

    Comment by Maisy | December 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

