It’s Not All Mary Poppins

The next sound you hear…

… will be bedlam.

Today is the first day of the week before Christmas. I am working until noon on Christmas Eve. Today is also the first day of the school Christmas break.

That means I will also have Timmy and Nigel here this week. It means that Emily and Tyler, who normally come Tuesday-Thursday, will be here Monday – Wednesday this week, so they can travel on Thursday. It means that today, I will have…

– three four-year-olds (Emily, Timmy, and Nigel)
– two two-year-olds (Tyler and Noah)
– a 20-month-old (Nissa)
and
– an 11-month-old (nameless new baby).

And tomorrow? TOMORROW I will have the same as the above, plus
– yet another four-year-old (William)
and, saints preserve me,
Gronk.

THANK GOD the school break also means that Emma will be here, and, bless his generous heart, my youngest step-son (he’s 14) has stepped up to the plate. Voluntarily. Emma, at 16, has more baby experience than most of us, and far more (deserved) confidence than I did when I started having my own.

“Congratuations, Mrs P, here’s your beautiful baby girl!”

And I popped her onto the breast, just like we learned in prenatal classes, and she started sucking lustily… and I smiled in maternal delight. It was working! I was A Mother!! And then we realized she was latched on and sucking on the side of my breast, nowhere near the site of the action, and she was getting nothing and I was getting an enormous hickey… and it took me a solid minute to figure this out. Because, what did I know? NOTHING, that’s what.

And the first time she cried? I froze. Deer in the headlights, that was me. Then the dread reality sunk in, trickling like icy water down my spine. I was A Mother. From here on in, it was up to me to do whatever needed to be done… and I hadn’t a fucking clue.

Ah, happy memories…

Obviously, I figured it out! We all do, right? But lucky Emma, with a wealth of experience to bolster her through those unnerving first few days and weeks. When the time comes. Which is not yet.

So the next couple of days will be INSANE!!! Just insane.

I am totally looking forward to it.

Today we will divide and conquer, with Emma staying home with Noah, Tyler and Nissa, and me taking Emily, Timmy and Nigel to the craft store for some necessary supplies. The baby will come with me if she’s awake, and stay with Emma if she’s sleeping.

While the small ones sleep, the big ones will make their Christmas crafts. Tomorrow, the reverse: Emma and Step-son (he’s going to need a name for this site if he keeps appearing; I will ask him) will take the olders to the park while I give the youngers a flounder in the drive and do their Christmas craft with them.

The oldest children are making wreaths from clothespegs, to hold Christmas cards. The middlers are making picture frames, and the youngest aren’t making anything. I am making a wreath for each of them, made with their very own little handprints. I’ve done this in previous years; it’s a popular craft with the parents. (Good, because it’s a bit tedious on my end… See what a nice provider I am?)

So by the end of this week, everyone will have a present to take home.

Toddlers, preschoolers and a baby. Outings and snacktimes and craft-times. Diapers and potties and paint and singing and snotty noises and laughter and Christmas lights and popcorn — DON’T EAT THAT — strands.

Fun times. Doesn’t it sound like fun?

I think so.

December 21, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, crafts, daycare | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. yay! timmy’s back! have fun! you will deserve your mulled wine on thursday!

    Comment by Dana | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. If there’s a stiff drink waiting at the other end of it for you, it all sounds merry and bright. Go for it and enjoy!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. Maybe it’s just that it’s Christmas time, maybe it’s because my youngest is 14 or maybe because I always loved little kids more than I ever admitted but that does sound like tons of fun…well, for a temporary arrangement anyway.

    😛

    Comment by Zayna | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. I think it sounds like tons of fun too. We won’t have any kids around this year, and it makes me a little sad.

    Comment by Sharkey | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. I will admit, people under 4 feet are not my thing. So your week sounds like hell to me!
    I have wreaths made with the handprints, courtesy of daycare a few years ago. They hang in places of honour every Christmas!

    Comment by Tammy | December 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. It does sound like fun!

    Comment by Bethany | December 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

