It’s Not All Mary Poppins

A rose by any other name…

… would be a petunia.

“Dese are my glubs.”

“Actually, sweetie, those are your mittens.”

“Well, IIII call dem glubs.”

I tap him on his button nose. “You can if you like, but yooooou’d be wrong, kiddo.”

Creativity in language is a marvellous thing. But those things you wear on your hands to keep them warm in winter, those things with no digits but thumbs? They’re mittens, mister. Like it or not.

January 13, 2010 - Posted by | individuality, quirks and quirkiness, the things they say! | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. My son is like that. When I tell him he’s wrong, he just says “Okay, but that’s what I’M calling it.” Makes me nuts!

    When he can’t make himself understood, you’d think that would be the motivator… You can hope, anyway. Heh.

    Comment by Tammy | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. But glubs is so cute!

    It IS! And when he’s wearing some, he can call them that… 😀

    Comment by Bridgett | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. He might not know the difference between gloves and mittens? I mean, only kids wear mittens and adults refer to their gloves as… gloves.

    Reasonable enough guess, except, unbeknownst to you, he and I had had that discussion previously. Besides, I wear mittens all the time, and so do most of their parents, most of the time. It’s COLD in Ottawa in the winter! Gloves don’t cut it.

    Comment by Nev | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. I tend to just let it go. I always think no one grows up thinking they’re glubs. And sure enough, two weeks later they’ll have the right word. (I do use the correct word myself, obviously.)

    Quite right. This is a quirk of mine. Cute mispronounciations I generally leave alone (unless they’re part of a larger speech problem). Incorrect word choices, I correct. Because that’s what I do. But no one else has to, if they don’t want to. 🙂

    Comment by Mwa | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. THANK YOU. I cannot tell you how much it annoys me when an adult gently corrects or teaches a word to a child, the child disagrees and the adult lets it go! A friend of mine does this and I know she does it because 1/she doesn’t like to disagree with anyone, about anything, and 2/she doesn’t like her children to be unhappy. WHAT?! So I would very nicely correct her child, he would dig in his heels and I would cheerfully respond much like you did. The kid would have a FIT because OMG someone was telling him he was wrong! ARGH!

    Opinions are debatable. Incorrect words are not!

    Comment by Candace | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. I didn’t know the difference between gloves and mittens. 😛 Then again, I live in Florida, so I’ve never had to wear mittens except on vacations to cold places.

    Learn something new every day!

    Isn’t it interesting?? Z doesn’t know the difference between toboggans and sleds, because she lives in England, where they get snow but (prior to the last couple of years!) not much. I’m sure there are some Floridian things which you take totally for granted which would surprise me were I to live there.

    Comment by Rebecca | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. My husband’s family is from the Ottawa valley, and they refer to anything on the hands as “gloves”. It makes for some entertaining moments for me sometimes, because I have taught the kids to use different terminology for the two kinds of hand-coverings. So when Dad or Grandpa says, “Don’t forget to put your gloves on”, the kids STOP putting on their mittens and start looking around for their gloves. And then the adult in question starts going crazy wondering why this child, who was happily getting dressed to go outside a minute ago, is now standing in the front hallway looking around for something to put on their hands WHEN THEY ARE HOLDING MITTENS right there in their hand! Bwa-ha-ha!

    And THAT is why we have two different words for them. Because they are, you know, two different things. Bwa-ha-ha!

    Comment by Dragon | January 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

