It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Daycare, Mr. Tax-man. Really

I’m not sure why this memory sprang to mind today. It could be that I’m diligently tallying receipts for my accountant’s worksheet this week. It could be the lesson I gave Emma in how to record any cheques written. It was certainly the My Life is Average post she read out loud to me this afternoon.

Some years back, I had in the crew a very energetic, cheerful, hockey-obsessed little boy. Even before these two (remember George and Darcy?) and their hockey obsession, there was Liam and his. Liam came equipped with a father, an energetic, cheerful, hockey-playing dad. Both of them, father and son, shared an impish grin and a lively sense of humour.

We were about seven months into our second year of our association when I, for reasons I cannot recall… heck, there probably was no reason; it was probably totally random… about seven months into our second year as a team, I looked, really looked, at that month’s post-dated cheque. (All parents, upon signing the contract, provide me with a year’s supply of monthly post-dated cheques.)

At the bottom left of the cheque. On that line where you write what it’s for? The line that most parents ignore, but, which if they use at all, they write “Childcare”?

HA! Not “childcare”, not “daycare”, nor even the less-pleasing “babysitting”.

No. At the bottom of that cheque, as had been at the bottom of every cheque that year, it said…

“for sexual favours”.

It’s hard to kill someone when you’re falling over laughing, but I gave it a damned fine effort.

And yes, we’re still friends.

January 19, 2010 - Posted by | daycare, Liam, Mischief, parents

7 Comments »

  1. Too funny!!

    Comment by Bethany | January 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Daycare, Mr. Husband, really – as well. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Mwa | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hehehehe

    Comment by Zayna | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. That nearly made me spit my tea on the screen! Too funny!!

    Comment by Cindy | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hahaha! That’s so funny.

    By the way, I’m really enjoying reading through old posts on your blog. I’m learning quite a bit about dealing with kids (since I haven’t really dealt with very young kids for years). We are planning on kids in a couple of years, and I’m trying to close the knowledge gap a bit before that happens. So I have to thank you for providing such a wonderful resource. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Rebecca | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh man, am I glad I wasn’t actively drinking coffee when I read that one! Thanks for the awesome morning laugh! Too funny!

    Comment by Ms. Huis Herself | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  7. Thanks for the trip down memory lane! Those posts were so much fun. As Darcy becomes more self-conscious, I can not wait to show him those pics with the fuzzy slippers and boxes on their heads.

    *Cue evil maternal cackling*… but those weren’t boxes, C, they were helmets. Of course.

    Comment by Darcy's Mum | January 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

