It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Just another day

Noah lies face-down on the couch, twitching slightly.

“Noah. Leave your penis alone. You don’t touch it in the living room. Your penis is private. You can touch it in your bed, or in the bathroom, but not in rooms with other people. Understand?”

Noah removes his hands from his boy bits and sits up.

“Okay. We sing Old MacDonald now?”

From masturbation to Old MacDonald in less than a breath. It’s a funny old world I work in, but I like it.

🙂

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | Developmental stuff, health and safety, Noah, sex

4 Comments »

  1. I wonder if that kind of distraction works with big boys too?

    Comment by Bethany | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great post!

    That’s the exact approach I took with my kids (now 21 and 14).

    “That’s private and if you want to do that you need to find a private place.”

    It was a real stretch for me having grown up in a house with some seriously mixed messages about sexuality. I didn’t want to shame my kids but at the same time knew they needed to have boundaries set.

    All in a days work eh?

    Comment by Zayna | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. I have trouble with my five year old doing that. I think I’ve been too laid-back. I always figured it was his own house, and I just said “not outside the house or when we have guests.” Not enough limits there, I’m thinking now.

    It’s your house, too. Do you and the mister make out on the dining table during dinner with the kids? There’s a time a place for everything. You could try making it a Big Boy thing. It’s okay for baaaabies to do that in public, but Big People know about privacy, and know to keep it private.

    Comment by Mwa | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. Ah yes, we had one of those who used to have hands in pants during circle time. Same comment applied. Sheesh.

    Comment by kittenpie | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

