It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Dropping like flies

Nissa stayed home Wednesday and Thursday. Tremendously restless nights, though with no obvious reasons. She may be in today.

Tyler stayed home Thursday. Cough and fever.

The new baby — her name is Lily — was home Wednesday and Thursday, and won’t be back until next week. Tummy bug.

Which left me, yesterday, with only Emily and Noah. Two kids? Four and two and a half? That’s pretty much a day off by my standards!

So when Emily got off the kindergarten bus, I made my Big Announcment.

“Hey, guys! We’re going to a restaurant for lunch!” Because, why not? It’s fun to be able to give them a special treat. The main street just a few blocks away from my very quiet one has several decent eateries on it. I choose my favourite pub, and we head off.

Noah chatters away in the stroller to Emily, walking beside. Emily chatters right back. Chatters for two blocks, until she starts waaaaaailing.

Cold? Pinched finger? Stubbed toe? Nope.

“I’m to tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiired to waaaaaaaaaaalk!!!”

Hm. We’re about halfway there, but then we have to eat, and then we’d have to walk home again. I am not a masochist. This was supposed to be a fun outing. If I proceed, it will be an ordeal. We turn around.

Back at the house, Emily eats a decent helping of her rice and beans, but while Noah opts for a second helping, she opts to lie on the couch. Before I can transfer her to a bed, she is SOUND asleep. And stays that way for three hours.

Noah is perfectly chirpy. he chirps his way through lunch, he chirps his way through story-and-snuggle, he chirps his way through producing an enormous and exceedingly liquid poo. Ew.

And when he wakes up? Cough and fever.

Follow the saga of Plague at Mary’s. How quickly can it spread? How many children will it infect? Will Mary’s family be spared?

And, even more importantly…

Will Mary get today off?

February 5, 2010 - Posted by | health and safety

8 Comments »

  1. good luck!

    Comment by Dana | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. My son has been home from school since last Thursday with an explosive issue with his nether regions, and my daughter’s been home since Tuesday with a vicious tummy bug. Today is the first day that everyone is healthy enough to go back to school. Being a stay at home Mom, I’m going to consider this my day off!

    Here’s hoping that you get one, too, although it’s too bad that all of the littles are sick.

    No day off. Nissa is here with me, but after we made two batches of biscotti together, she has settled in to play with the doll house while I catch up on some essentials (Like blogging? lalalala…)

    Enjoy your day off!

    Comment by tuesy | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. And most importantly, will Mary be able to keep herself well? Good luck!

    Thank you! I so rarely catch these things any more, I don’t much worry about it. After all the bugs I’ve been exposed to over the years, I must have a cast-iron immune system!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. We’ve been (knock on wood) exceedingly lucky this year. Two weeks ago they were down to two in the infant rooms at our center (out of 14 kids) with tummy bugs. The family we’re rooming with all came down with it as well. We bleached the house and tried to keep the baby away from the sick babies and miraculously our two stayed healthy.
    I hope your brood stays healthy and that you enjoy your easy day!

    Glad to hear yours stayed healthy. Given your living situation, that’s a very good thing, and maybe even a little surprising!

    My ‘brood’ these days is just one — Emma. Haley and Adam have both moved out, Adam a year and a half ago, Haley… goodness. Close to seven, if you include university years. Wow. The one most likely to succumb is my husband, but so far, so good.

    Comment by Dani | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. I knew if I checked the comments, you would have at least one child there.
    What I want to know is, how did those germs get all the way from your house in Ontario to MY house in the Yukon? I am home with all the same symptoms….yuck. But at least I get to be home alone!

    Alone. What a lovely word…

    How do the same bugs sweep a nation? Beats the heck out of me.

    I took advantage of all those empty bedrooms upstairs to have a nap of my own, tough. Just an hour. Am I coming down with it, too? Nope. I’ve just had a busy week!

    Comment by Tammy | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  6. *chuckle*

    My son’s home daycare was down to 4 last week … My nearly 2 year old was also home ALL WEEK.

    If nobody gets sick this evening, we’ll have the first virus free weekend since New Years. Although, I must say, these days we’re pumping our fists with joy if a kid gets sick Friday evening since then the chances are high he will be fine by Monday.

    Ah hum, I have changed a lot since the prekid days.

    “Yay! A sick kid all weekend!” Yup, I’d say they’ve changed, all right. I’m hoping the bugs have all been worked through and you’re into a phase of health for the next little while!

    Comment by MB | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  7. Actually, what is going to happen is that the day all the kids are back and healthy you will get sick. And I know about the day care super immune syndrome, but it is not infallible.

    Oh, now you just hush! 😛

    Comment by jwg | February 5, 2010 | Reply

  8. Heh, you need a break after the incidents in your last post.

    Thank you! I’ll take it. And in fact, the one child who showed up on Friday was really too sick to be here, but her parents had already taken two days this week and couldn’t take any more… and given that she was the only one, we didn’t need to worry about infecting anyone! We stayed at home, played quietly, and she had a FOUR-HOUR nap. She was just wiped. So it wasn’t exactly a demanding day for me!

    Comment by Suzi | February 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

