It’s Not All Mary Poppins

In which Mary and the Wonderful Husband contribute to the cause of Public Betterment

The Wonderful Husband returns from a few days away. He travels fairly regularly for his work, though usually he’s only gone a couple of nights.

As he does from time to time, he has a gift for me. (Told you he was a Wonderful Husband.) This gift, being a bouquet of flowers, is not packed in a suitcase as such trinkets generally are, but exits the taxi with him and is presented on the front porch.

It’s a mild day, and a few neighbours are chatting on the sidewalk across the street. Tall blond husband across the way notices the exchange and calls out,

“Hey, knock it off! You’re making the rest of us look bad!”

And me — I am NEVER, EVER this quick off the mark — I holler back,

“Pfft. The rest of you should be taking notes!”

And while I give Wonderful Husband a big, heartfelt (and astonishingly public) kiss, the wives across the way applaud.

Mwah-ha.

March 2, 2010 - Posted by | peer pressure | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Is it bad that I’m considering printing this off for my own husband? Then he could take notes…

    I chortle. Totally up to you, sister!

    Comment by Mwa | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Love this.

    Me, too! 🙂

    Comment by Jen | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. A lot of them need to be taking notes! I’ve got kids old enough to tell them what I want and hope that they’ll tell their dad… but he still doesn’t get it.

    I’m very happy with the man I’m with. But of course, he is husband v.2 — I had some mistakes to learn from first… Some people would say ‘well, then, don’t leave it up to the kids – YOU tell him what you want!’, but I know from previous experience that doesn’t necessarily work. I will hope there are enough positives for you, to make it a good place to be, on balance!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | March 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. Gotta keep that come back in mind! At our wedding reception, one of my uncles teased my husband that his wedding speech was getting everyone in trouble with their wives.
    “Why didn’t YOU say something like that?”

    While it is undeniably true that the sparkling, amazing wonder of those few heady weeks/months of passion do fade, it is absolutely false that this inevitably translates into taking the other for granted, ignoring them, and/or being annoyed by them most of the time. I was proud of myself for thinking of that, though… I’m usually terrible at the quick response, just terrible.

    Comment by ifbyyes | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. 🙂

    Comment by Dana | March 3, 2010 | Reply

  6. […] 4, 2010 by secretlysarah The boyfriend is home again, hurrah.  I didn’t get flowers, but I did get twizzlers which I appreciate just as much and the cats don’t eat and then puke […]

    Pingback by Killing Me Softly « A Piece of Sanity | March 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

