It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Yawn…

Busy weekend. Headed out Saturday to city three and a half hours away for a dinner. Stayed overnight for the wedding the next day. Home late last night. (Late by my early-to-bed standards.) Straight into work again this morning. Not a single moment to relax, decompress, not be “on”.

I want to go to bed now.

I woke up wanting to go to bed. This is not a good thing.

Three one-year-olds today, two of whom are experiencing a bit of “WTHAY(AWDYDWMM)”? Thankfully, their cases are mild, but still… It requires me to be caaaaalm, and yet PERKY!, soooooooothing and yet cheery!, reeeeeelaaaaaxed and yet upbeat… in just the right measure, the balance ever adjusting to their responses, so as to keep everyone cheerfully calm, perkily soothed, relaxedly upbeat.

I’m exhausted.

But we had a largely tear-free morning, and! they’re all napping now. 😀

And now, if you’ll all excuse me, I think I’m just going to make myself a nice, soothing, relaxing cup of tea, which I will drink cheerfully on the sunny porch.

Aaaaaahhhh…

May 10, 2010 - Posted by | random and odd

5 Comments »

  1. Don’t fall asleep because if you do your licensing agent will show up for an unannounced inspection and you will be in deep s***. Lots of coffee should help. I hope whatever is for dinner tonight can be cooked while sleepwalking, or maybe some kind soul will take pity.

    We had leftovers. I planned that in advance! I don’t really need to worry about inspections, however: Unless someone registers a complaint, inspectors don’t show up unnanounced. I’m on good terms with neighbors, clients and neighbourhood caregivers — because I stay within the legalities and do a good job — so that sort of visit is extremely unlikely. But still, I’ll opt for caffeine rather than a nap!

    Comment by jwg | May 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Really? No unannounced inspections? Around here there has to be at least one in every two year licensing period and if you get on the rep’s bad side she can show up as often as she wants. And they never fail to make that visit on the one day the assistant has to run home early to her own sick child so you are out of ratio!

      Comment by jwg | May 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. I always wake up wanting to go to bed. I didn’t realize until relatively recently that that is not necessarily how other people experience the world:

    I got to bed when I’m wide awake (or at least, I did before I was pregnant. Now I’m never wide awake), and wake up when I’m dead sleepy.

    Ugh. That sounds awful. I go to sleep when I’m tired, and wake up (without an alarm!) ready to go. I think you’d like my way better, if you could figure out a way to manage it!

    Comment by ifbyyes | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Oh, how I love nap time as well.

    As for that first comment – REALLY? You’re not allowed to fall asleep? Luckily that doesn’t apply to mothers. What a stupid rule.

    It’s an aggravating rule … well, actually, I don’t think it’s a rule where I live… but I abide by it, anyway, because I tend to be more careful with other peoples’ children than I ever was with my own! (And even then, I’m less careful than many of my clients! It’s such a risk-phobic society over here.

    Comment by Mwa | May 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. Think about it. You sleep while the kids are asleep, but one quiet two year old wakes up and you don’t hear him. The potential for disaster is pretty great, from markers on the wall to a fire on the stove. I think many regulations are nonsense, but that one makes sense. Don’t know if every jurisdiction has the reg, but ours does.

    Oh, for me, I think the risk of real physical danger is minimal. If I were napping on the couch (which I would be), I am between the area where the children sleep and my kitchen. They would have to walk right by me to bet setting fires. Additionally, it’s an old house, with creaky floors and doors, and I am a very light sleeper. The odds of a child getting out of bed and moving around without me knowing are slight. Still, I don’t think it looks good, so I don’t do it. I’m also quite aware that in a different house, with a different caregiver, it could be quite risky, so it’s just not something that can be allowed across the board.

    Comment by jwg | May 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

