It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Like the adults on Charlie Brown

I pour Emily a glass of milk, and as I hand it to her across the table, Noah opens his mouth. Anticipating what’s about to come next, I interject into his inhalation.

“Emily is having milk because she was not here earlier. You’ve already had your milk. If you’re thirsty, you may have some water.”

He hears me out politely, then opens his mouth once more.

“Mary, can I have some milk, please?”

Wah-whah-wah-whaw-whaw-whaw…

Except they appear to understand her.

June 3, 2010 - Posted by | Noah | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Love it!! This happens to me ALL the time. That’s when I realize, that although my preschool class *appears* to be listening politely, they are actually just waiting for the tall lady to stop talking so that they can move on with their day! LOL.

    Yes! That’s exactly it! “When Mary is done talking, I can ask about the milk.” I hadn’t thought of it in those terms, but I’m sure that’s exactly what was going through his mind.

    Comment by Mamacrab | June 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

