It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Look what I did!

I first found the idea of Pillowcase Dresses on One Pretty Thing quite a while back. One day, I promised myself, one day I would do that, because — SO CUTE! Then my eldest, who is scaling down prior to a move, gave me some pillowcases her grandmother had given her. VINTAGE pillowcases, these would be, with the adorable embroidery, tiny bit of lace trim, and everything. Two weeks ago, I finally got to the fabric store for the ribbon. I had the pillowcases, I had the fixings. One day I’d put it all together.

Today was that day. It’s rainy, it’s Baby Monday, and it’s naptime. What better time?

(Click on the picture for a larger view.)

It took less than an hour to make two. The second took about 22 minutes. If you can sew at all, these things are EEEEEEEEasy! And are they not the sweetest things? I can hardly wait for the girls to wake up and try them on!

Emma watches me delight in these things. “Are you going to be the kind of grandmother who makes things for her grandchildren?” she asks. Then she brightens. “SURE you will! These kids aren’t even related, and look what they’re getting!”

She could be onto something.

🙂

June 14, 2010 - Posted by | crafts | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Oh jolly well done MP…those are SO cute. Lucky girls.

    Unfortunately, the girls were collected by their fathers. I had the girls dressed in their new finery, and (these being dads, and not necessarily attuned to the details of their daughter’s wardrobe) pointed them out, the parental response was muted. One at least thought to say thank you and the other said ‘oh, that’s nice’, but, that was it. And you KNOW the reaction would have been SO MUCH BETTER had the mothers been the ones to collect their daughters. I was so pleased, and the response was so muted, I confess to being a tad let down. And, yes, a smidge annoyed… 😛

    Comment by wendy | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. Those are beautiful. What a lovely idea!

    Isn’t the internet just full of lovely ideas? It makes me happy. 🙂

    Comment by Danielle | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sooo cute. And if they can keep their pudgy fingers off of those beautiful silky ribbons, they might even stay on.

    Ha! Lily had hers off within five minutes. Thereafter the bows were knotted in place!

    Comment by katkins | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. Those are so cute they almost make me wish I were having a girl!

    I am on the lookout for something as cute and easy for the boys. If I find it, I’ll let you know!

    Comment by IfByYes | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh my goodness, so cute! I have a grand-niece arriving in about 17 days…I’m sure her mom wouldn’t mind getting something like this to put away for later!

    A friend of mine is musing on the possibility of making a much smaller one for a newborn using a pretty tea-towel or two. It could work!

    Comment by Candace | June 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. oooh pretty. I want one! (for me)

    You look like a reasonably petite woman, but even so I’m thinking it would border on indecent… Though maybe a king-size pillowcase would make a cute little babydoll pajama top? Or super-shortie nightie?

    Comment by suzie | June 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. and hey, the things you make for your grandkids will even be cute and practical and wearable, unlike the inexplicable things my mom produces. that is a serious bonus, let me tell you!

    Comment by kittenpie | June 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

