It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Sleeping like a baby…

I’ve always found that to be a cruel, cruel expression, btw. They sure look cute when they sleep, but… when it’s your child sleeping, and that child is, oh, less than three or four months old, the parental thought process can be a tad fraught. How long will it last? How sound it is? I need to get some stuff done… but I’m so tired! Should I nap first, or get stuff done? Could I maybe do BOTH??? (HA!) I’m so tired! He went down late… should I get him up early so he’ll fall asleep at a decent hour tonight? (HA!) Tired, so tired! Will the neighbour’s damnable yapping dog wake the baby? She’s been sleeping a long time… should I wake her? But I’m just sooooo tired….

If you’re of a sufficiently creative turn of mind (and, I suspect, if you’re sufficiently sleep-deprived), you might even use some of the baby’s nap-time to play fun games with baby and a camera.

I love it… even though I know that when my babies were that age, there is nooooo way I’d have risked my baby’s sweet, precious, desperately-longed-for moments of slumber by messing around, setting up the scene around him/her.

I wouldn’t have… but I’m glad this woman does!

Aren’t these hysterical?

(And I hope she is sufficiently grateful — which is to say, down on her knees, thanking the universe through tears of amazement grateful — for a child who sleeps that soundly!)

July 26, 2010 - Posted by | Mischief | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Funny, that same link was posted twice on my facebook today!

    The blog was picked up by BoingBoing last Friday. I think it’s going viral. 🙂

    Comment by IfByYes | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. These are wonderful!

    Aren’t they, though?

    Comment by Sylvia | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks for that! I reeeeally needed the laugh. I’m currently immersed in sleep-deprived service to a three-week old (I’m sooooo tiiiiired!), and I certainly won’t be risking the sleep with these tricks, but it’s so fun to see!

    That was exactly my response: I probably couldn’t ever have managed to do it myself, but what fun!

    Comment by rosie_kate | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. Okay, I take it back. I’m really tempted…

    Hee. The blog got me thinking, and I’ve decided that since a baby’s daydreams couldn’t be of things they hadn’t yet experienced, and since babies so young don’t really have boundaries — they don’t even understand where their bodies end and the rest of the world begins — ‘daydreams’, assuming they do any such thing, would have to be really immediate and physical/experiential and with few spatial/chronological/sensory boundaries. The effect would be surreal, or perhaps even psychadelic. Giant soft breasts, and swirls of colour… A picture couldn’t pick up the distress of hunger pangs followed by the sweet relief of warm milk, but I think that’s how a baby experiences reality: physically and immediately.

    Comment by rosie_kate | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. They’re brilliant! My jaw is on the floor in utter amazement that anyone could have the spare time to do that!! And who are these babies that sleep so well?? My 3 month old sleeps for 45 mins and that’s that. I can either run round the house in a frenzy of activity to get stuff done, or have a cup of tea. Those are the only options. And it’s usually the tea.

    Comment by Kate R | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. slightly disturbed by the amount of planning and preparation that must have gone into this…

    I know. I had the same thought! I note she doesn’t do one every day, and really, the days for this sort of thing are numbered. I’m guessing she’s a creative sort, the type for whom something like this arrives fully-formed in her mind, and for whom setting it up is simply fun, fun, fun. She’s not all angsty, she’s just playing. And really, when I get past my initial “AGH! it’s NAPTIME! why are you not SLEEPING too?” reaction, I admire the whimsy. She’ll probably make a great mother. 🙂

    Comment by Dana | July 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

