It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Craftiness, Day 2

In my front entry, I have a row of pegs, each labelled with a child’s name. The parents hang clothing and, more problematically, bags and backpacks, on these pegs. It’s problematic because the bags are often too wide for the space between the pegs. They overlap, they intrude on each other. Too often when I hunt for something in one bag, the adjacent bag falls to the floor.

It’s untidy, it’s inconvenient, it’s a nuisance. I’ve wanted to do something about it for a while. And hey! Why not now?? I have time — I’m on holiday! I have space — my very own Craft Room!!! I shall make a set of bags. They don’t have to be fancy: if they’re all the same, their very uniformity will decrease the visual clutter, and if they’re crafted to fit the space, I won’t have the inconvenience of falling bags. They can go back and forth between my house and the child’s. Perfect!

I want the bags to be sturdy, so I’m thinking denim. Durable, can be washed zillions of times… but, given that I need to make five of these things, potentially pricey. Denim is not the cheapest of fabrics. So, I figured, buy a couple of pairs of second-hand jeans from Value Village to use for fabric! Two pairs of VV jeans will be cheaper than a couple of yards of denim from Fabricland, right?

Wrong. Harrumph.

HOWEVER, if you wander over to the housewares section, there are sheets! blankets! shower curtains!, and what are they if not big lengths of fabric? Maybe there would be something durable enough. Worth having a look, at any rate. When I got over there, I discovered a rack of actual lengths of fabric! Even better, they had denim. I scored two types: about 5 metres of pale blue denim, and 2 of a darker blue, patterned denim.

For $7.99. A dollar and change per metre! A screaming deal, by any standards.

I had one false start, during which I realized that you need to finish the top edge before you assemble the bag. Oh, and one blown-out needle. There is a reason there are needles specifically designed for denim…

But it didn’t take too long before I had a method that worked, and…

Cute, huh?

I now have five of these, and they fit the space perfectly. They’re narrow enough to fit neatly between the pegs, and deep enough to hold a change of clothes, several diapers, a bottle, and maybe even a few small toys.

Perfect!

August 31, 2010 - Posted by | crafts, holidays | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. And you aren’t going to save them to give as Christmas gifts?! Too cute!

    Oh, but these are mine. They will stay here when the children move on. But I have Christmas ideas in the works!

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love them!

    Thanks!

    Comment by Bethany | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. So cool. How about some clever detachable name tags so when some kid pulls them all off the hooks you’ll be able to tell them apart?

    You read my mind! Only, instead of name tags, how about papier-mache initials? I’ve four of the five done now. (Happily, the children cannot reach the bags. The hooks are quite a way over their small heads!)

    Comment by jwg | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. Very nice! I’m so jealous of your new craft room. Someday, I’ll have my own craft room, and time to actually make use of it. (Alas, since my youngest is just 10 months old, it’s going to be a looong time before that happens!)

    Yes, though I love my daycare babies to bits, and loved, loved, loved that stage of my own motherhood, I’m quite happy to be at a different stage now. My 17-year-old ‘baby’ has taken to joining me and sipping a cup of tea as she chats to me as I sew. It’s quite lovely.

    Comment by BookMama | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. but what if the parents neglect to bring them back?

    That’s always a possibility, of course, but with my clientele, a remote one, I think. Each couple has at least one organized partner, all are honest, and no one is tremendously absent-minded, so I think we’ll be all right!

    Comment by meep | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  6. […] Tote bags I’ve covered before. […]

    Pingback by Newest project « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | May 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

