It’s Not All Mary Poppins

Wreath

The old wreath, though lovely in its time, had had it. Time for something new! While walking down the local shopping street, Emma and I had come across a store giving away sample books, and gleefully scooped a few. What can you do with upholstery samples?

Make leaves! The maple leaves were traced from a real, pressed leaf. The oak leaves I just made up as I went along. I like the maple leaves better. The oval leaves are fine, generic leaves, cut with pinking shears just for fun.

Mount them with a hot-melt glue gun on a styrofoam ring, painted brown so it’s not so noticeable…

And ta-dah! A fall wreath for my front door!

October 25, 2010 - Posted by | Canada, crafts | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Now let the kiddies make one for their families! Adapt to avoid hot glue perhaps…

    Comment by Jill in Atlanta | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am in awe of your craftiness. I swear someday I will do things like this.

    Comment by Dani | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. That maple leaf is just perfect! It’s so much fun to enjoy autumn, and so dismal to realize that snow and freezing temperatures are just around the corner.

    Comment by mamadragon | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. Gosh, that’s lovely! I hope that I run into some free sample books one of these days. I remember doing crafts with the wallpaper catalogues when I was a kid.

    Comment by laura | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] Cookie-Sheet Advent Calendars You recall that a while ago, Emma and I stumbled across some very useful freebies being tossed by a local business. Freebies which have (so far) turned into an autumn wreath. […]

    Pingback by Cookie-Sheet Advent Calendars « It’s Not All Mary Poppins | November 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

